Skip To Content
frise_chronologique-timeline

Transcript for ‘Leroy - Automobile 2010’

The LeRoy was the first commercially produced gasoline automobile to have been built in Canada. The car was produced from 1899 to 1907 by the Good Brothers of Berlin, which later became the city of Kitchener, Ontario. Propelled by a small, one cylinder engine designed by the Ramson E. Olds company in Michigan, which was later to become the cradle of North America’s automobile industry, the LeRoy was well poised to take over from the horse drawn carriages of the day.

The engine was located under the seat. The body was fairly basic, with the roof hanging high above and no covering in front. The presence of rubber tires, a steering lever and dash board set it apart from the old buggies of the day.

Over that 8-year period, only 32 of these cars were built. As far as we know, only two of these cars still exist in Canada. One of them can be found at the Doon Pioneer Village in Kitchener, and the other is at the Canada Museum of Science and Technology in Ottawa. Its original owner, Mr. Gordon Cavanaugh, was one of the most important car collectors in Canada. When he acquired this famous automobile, Mr. Cavanaugh knew nothing of its origins and history. The item was part of the personal collection of H.G. O’Connell, a collector who owned close to one hundred antique cars. When Mr. Cavanaugh bought the car at an auction in 1966, he thought he had purchased an early 20th century Oldsmobile.

However, during a mechanical inspection while restoring the car, he realised this was no Oldsmobile. It only had one forward gear, assisted by a planetary transmission, and had no braking system. The only way to stop it was to press on the reverse pedal. As he could find no documentation on this type of mechanics, he began an investigation to try and identify this mystery car.

TV Rogers, a Division of Rogers Cable Communications Inc.

« LeRoy

Aller au contenu
frise_chronologique-timeline

Transcription pour 'Leroy - Automobile 2010'

La première automobile à essence fabriquée au Canada et produite commercialement fut la LeRoy. La voiture fut construite de 1899 à 1907 par les Good Brothers de Berlin, devenue depuis la ville de Kitchener en Ontario. Propulsée par un petit moteur un cylindre conçu par la Ramson E. Olds du Michigan, devenu le berceau de l’industrie automobile nord-américaine, la Le Roy succédait aux charrettes de l’époque.

Le moteur était placé sous la banquette. L’habitacle plutôt rudimentaire était placé haut, et était complètement découvert dans sa partie avant. La présence de pneumatiques, d’un garde-boue, d’un levier de direction et d’un tableau de bord la distinguait des buggies du temps.

Seulement 32 voitures ont été construites pendant cette période de 8 ans. Il ne semble en exister que 2 exemplaires en condition au Canada. Une au Doon Pioneer Village à Kitchener, et l’autre au Musée des sciences et de la technologie du Canada. Son propriétaire initial, Monsieur Gordon Cavanaugh était l’un des plus importants collectionneurs de voitures au Canada. Lors de l’acquisition de la fameuse voiture, monsieur Cavanaugh n’avait aucune idée de sa provenance et de son histoire. La pièce provenait de la collection personnelle de H.G. O’Connell, un collectionneur qui possédait près de 100 automobiles d’époque. Monsieur Cavanaugh en fit l’acquisition lors d’un encan en 1966. Il acheta la voiture tout en pensant qu’il s’agissait d’une Oldsmobile du début du siècle dernier.

C’est lors de l’inspection de sa mécanique pendant sa restauration qu’il se rendit compte que ce n’était pas une Oldsmobile. Elle n’avait qu’une seule vitesse avant, assistée d’une transmission planétaire, et n’avait aucun système de freinage. La seule façon de l’arrêter était de presser la pédale de la marche arrière. Devant l’absence de toute documentation sur ce type de mécanique, il débuta son enquête afin d’identifier la voiture.

TV Rogers, une division de Rogers Cable Communications Inc.

« LeRoy