Skip To Content
frise_chronologique-timeline

Transcript for ‘Bricklin SV-1 - Automobile 2010’

American promoter Malcolm Bricklin always wanted to build his very own American designed sports car.

He has a passion for both business and automobiles. But over the years, his reputation has dwindled. Though his head is filled with great concepts he has difficulty bringing them to the finish line. Lured by guaranteed loans of $2,880,000, and another $500,000 for a 51% control of the shares by the government, he opens acrylic body fabrication plants in St. John and Minto, New Brunswick.

The Government at the time, while involved in the endeavour of building this automobile, soon begins to have its doubts. Meanwhile, Malcolm Bricklin is spending like a sailor while maintaining an eccentric lifestyle. He uses private planes and sleeps in the most luxurious hotels. Eventually, production is delayed due to technical problems with items such as the butterfly doors and the poor quality of the body work, just to name a few.

During this time, the designer exhibits the automobile everywhere he can, but clients still can’t get their hands on one. The Bricklin is supposed to cost around $4,000, but the price tag soon climbs up to $7,500, and then finally settles at just around $10,000.

Design problems quickly appear on the first units to hit the streets. Of note, the acrylic fiberglass body changes shape according to the weather. The doors won’t close properly, and uneven body joints make it look like a home made car…

Ironically, during the events of September 11th 2001, many airplanes had to be rerouted towards Moncton. Among the passengers, a certain Malcolm Bricklin, who had previously sworn never to set foot again in New Brunswick.

« Bricklin SV-1

Aller au contenu
frise_chronologique-timeline

Transcription pour 'Bricklin SV-1 - Automobile 2010'

Le promoteur américain Malcolm Bricklin voulait construire sa propre voiture sport de conception américaine.

Il a la passion des voitures et des affaires. Pourtant, au fil des années, sa réputation est peu enviable. Il a la tête pleine de projets, mais a de la difficulté à les mettre à terme. Attiré par des garanties d’emprunt de 2 880 000 $, en plus de 500 000 $ pour 51% des actions par le gouvernement, il ouvre une usine de fabrication de carrosseries en fibre de verre, à St-Jean et à Minto au Nouveau-Brunswick.

Le gouvernement en place, qui s’implique dans le projet de fabrication de la fameuse voiture, commence à sentir la soupe chaude peu après. Pendant ce temps, Malcolm Bricklin dépense à tout vent avec son train de vie excentrique. Il voyage en avion privé et couche dans les hôtels les plus luxueux. La production est enfin retardée en raison des problèmes techniques, comme les portes-papillon et la mauvaise qualité des carrosseries.

Pendant ce temps, son concepteur la présente partout, mais les clients ne peuvent toujours pas s’en procurer une. La Bricklin devait se vendre aux environs de $4,000 initialement, mais la facture grimpa rapidement aux alentours de $7,500, pour se terminer dans la fourchette des $10,000.

Les problèmes de conception apparaissent rapidement sur les unités vendues. Entre autres, sa carrosserie en fibre de verre se modifiait selon la température. Portes qui ferment mal et joints de carrosserie inégaux la font ressembler bien plus à une voiture de fabrication artisanale.

Comble d’ironie, lors des évènements du 11 septembre 2001, plusieurs avions ont dû être détournés du côté de Moncton. Parmi les passagers, un certain Malcolm Bricklin, qui s’était pourtant juré de ne jamais remettre les pieds au Nouveau-Brunswick.

« Bricklin SV-1