Skip To Content

Get Flash PlayerThis site uses Javascript and the Adobe Flash Player plugin. The plugin is available at http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/

1970

The anti-war movement reached its peak in the 1970s as protests against American involvement in the Vietnam War grew more widespread. Protesters had moral and legal arguments against the war, and were vehemently opposed to the Draft, or forced military service. Approximately 20,000 Americans dodged the draft by escaping to Canada and of those who were drafted, approximately 12,000 deserted. Economically, rising inflation prompted governments to enact wage and price controls. In 1973 OPEC (Organization of Petroleum Exporting Countries) declared an embargo on oil exports to North America and many Western European nations, causing an oil crisis. This led to supply shortages and higher oil and gas prices. Consumers demanded smaller cars, as some governments reduced speed limits. Foreign car makers had an edge in the compact and sub-compact market, and for the first time, imported cars—such as the Honda Civic—gained popularity in the North American car market.

Cars

Manic GT used the platform and running gear of the Renault 10 combined with a fibreglass body.

1971

Manic—a fusion of European and American design to create a Canadian car.

Beginning in 1968, a team led by Jacques About of Montreal began to develop the Manic GT. About and his team projected that they could produce 1,300 cars a year from the Granby, Quebec, assembly plant. Unfortunately, dependence on parts from Renault proved to be the company's downfall. Renault's supply of parts was unreliable and slow, and could not meet the demand of the Granby factory, which ended up closing in May of 1971. Only 160 Manic GTs were ever produced.

Photo: Canada Science and Technology Museum 1984.0712

1973 Mercury Meteor Montcalm (Silver Anniversary Edition), Ford Motor Company of Canada Ltd., Oakville, Ontario

1973

This "Anniversary Edition" celebrates a car built in Canada.

Ford created the Mercury Meteor specifically for the Canadian market in 1949. It was popular in Canada for many years, and in 1960 was introduced to the American market. The Meteor was discontinued in 1976, by which time nearly 600,000 had been produced in Ford of Canada's Oakville, Ontario plant. This Meteor was built under the Auto Pact (1965-2000)—a North American trade agreement that bolstered Canada's auto industry.

Photo: Canada Science and Technology Museum 1985.0108

The Bricklin SV-1 built with Ford and American Motors components.

1975

The controversial Bricklin company goes into receivership.

Though it was assembled in Canada, the Bricklin was only sold in the United States. Technical problems with the car's design and engineering meant that an individual car cost three times its wholesale price to produce. Bricklin Canada closed its doors in 1976, after manufacturing fewer than 3,000 cars. In 2007, the Bricklin SV-1 won the dubious honour of being included in Time magazine's list of "The 50 Worst Cars of All Time."

Photo: Canada Science and Technology Museum 1975.0622

In The News

A Corporal stands near a flag flying at half mast for Quebec’s murdered Labour Minister Pierre Laporte

1970

All eyes in Canada are on Quebec as the October Crisis unfolds, and Parliament invokes the War Measures Act.

The October Crisis was precipitated by the kidnapping of James Cross, a British diplomat, and Pierre Laporte, a Quebec cabinet minister, by the Front de libération du Quebec (FLQ), a militant separatist group. At the request of Quebec and Montreal officials, Ottawa invoked the War Measures Act, for only the third time in Canadian history. The Act suspended civil liberties and gave the government and, by extension, the police and military, sweeping powers of arrest and detention. The morning after the invocation of the War Measures Act, police found the body of Pierre Laporte in the trunk of a car. James Cross was eventually released and his captors were given safe passage to Cuba. During the Crisis, hundreds of people were arrested, though only 20 people were actually convicted for their actions.

Photo: 12 October 1970
DND Photo, VL70-155-7

A crash test between a 1959 Chevrolet Bel Air and a 2009 Chevrolet Malibu conducted by the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety

1971

The Canadian Parliament passes the Motor Vehicle Safety Act.

In cooperation with provincial and national safety and standards organizations, Transport Canada developed national safety standards for the design and construction all motor vehicles. The Motor Vehicle Safety Act came into effect on January 1, 1971.

Video: 9 September 2009
Insurance Institute for Highway Safety

Hon. Muriel McQueen Fergusson, 1899 - 1997.

1972

Muriel Fergusson is appointed the first female speaker of the Senate.

Muriel McQueen Fergusson was born in New Brunswick, and was a pioneer of women's rights. She occupied positions of authority in New Brunswick and increased opportunities for Canadian women through her tireless efforts. In 1976, she was made an Officer of the Order of Canada.

Photo: Library and Archives of Canada, PA-185700

The gas rationing system is announced in an afternoon paper, which is being read at a service station that has run out of gas.

1973

The OPEC oil embargo causes consumer gas prices to quadruple. Gas stations run out of gas and rationing begins in some regions.

The OPEC oil embargo was based on its Arab members' objections to the "United States decision to re-supply the Israeli army" during the Arab-Israeli War of October 1973. The price for a barrel of oil skyrocketed by 70%. As a result, North American consumers began looking for small, more fuel-efficient cars. They turned to imports as domestic automakers were slow to respond to this trend.

Photo: January 1974
National Archives and Records Administration

A sign at the Canadian border reminds American motorists to convert their speed to metric.

1977

The Canadian government decides to adopt the metric system of weights and measures. Authorities must therefore change all highway signs to metric.

The decision to convert was prompted mostly by the need for a standard system of measurement that was shared with the rest of the world. Speed and distance are given to motorists in metric in almost all countries of the world, with the largest hold-out being the United States.

Photo: 2009
Oran Viriyincy

Pop Culture

Visit of Prime Minister Pierre Elliott Trudeau, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories

1971

A policy of multiculturalism in Canada is officially announced by Pierre Trudeau's Liberal government.

Immigration to Canada, from all parts of the world, had increased significantly since 1945, transforming the Canadian landscape into a culturally-diverse mosaic. The multiculturalism policy encouraged Canadians to accept these many diverse cultures as integral to Canada's identity. It recognized the changing Canadian demographic and the social importance of ethnic diversity.

Photo: ca. 1970
Glenbow Archives NA-3500-30

Demonstrators walking down Spadina Avenue

1971

Through community activism and protest, residents of Toronto successfully stop the extension of an expressway through downtown neighbourhoods.

In response to increasing suburbanization, the Municipality of Metropolitan Toronto, as early as 1954, put a priority on the building of expressways which would increase car traffic from the outer areas of the expanding city into the downtown core. The Spadina Expressway, for example would have extended south from the 401 to Bloor Street thus requiring the demolition of established residential neighbourhoods and parks. It was first proposed in 1959 and was met with immediate and continuous opposition. Community groups, supported by Marshall McLuhan and Jane Jacobs amongst others, battled municipal governments over the issue until 1971 when Ontario Premier Bill Davis, withdrew provincial funding, thus killing the project.

Photo: December 6, 1969
ASC Image 705, Stop Spadina Collection - Toronto Telegram Clara Thomas Archives and Special Collections, York University

One of three Anik communication satellites produced for Telesat Canada.

1972

Telesat Canada, in cooperation with the US space program, launches the Anik A satellite. Canada becomes the first country in the world to put a satellite into orbit for non-military purposes.

The Anik satellite enabled networks like the CBC to greatly extend the reach of their broadcast signal to include Canada's far north. The Anik A had 12 transponders giving a capacity of 7,000 telephone circuits or 12 colour television channels. "Anik" means "Little Brother" in Inuktituk.

Photo: ca. 1971
Telesat

The Montreal Olympic Stadium, or 'The Big O', was where most of the events were held.

1976

Montreal hosts the Summer Olympics.

The 1976 Olympics were the first and only time that Canada has hosted the Summer Games. It was also the first time that women competed in basketball, rowing and handball. The Montreal Games were marred by internal mismanagement which resulted in cost over-runs totalling $1 billion. Anger over a tour of apartheid South Africa by the New Zealand rugby team resulted in a boycott of the Games by virtually all African nations.

Photo: Alain Carpentier

Aller au contenu

Get Flash Player Ce site utilise Javascript et le plugin Adobe Flash Player. Le plugin est disponible a http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/

1970

Le mouvement pacifiste bat son plein dans les années 1970 et les manifestations contre la guerre au Vietnam se généralisent. Les manifestants, qui avancent des arguments moraux et juridiques contre la guerre, s'opposent énergiquement à la conscription, c'est-à-dire au service militaire obligatoire. Environ 20 000 Américains passent au Canada pour y échapper et parmi les jeunes appelés, quelque 12 000 désertent. Côté économie, la hausse de l'inflation pousse les gouvernements à imposer le contrôle des salaires et des prix. En 1973, l'Organisation des pays exportateurs de pétrole (OPEP) déclare un embargo sur les exportations de pétrole à destination de l'Amérique du Nord et de nombreux pays d'Europe occidentale, provoquant une crise pétrolière. Il s'ensuit des pénuries d'approvisionnement et une augmentation des prix du pétrole et de l'essence. Les consommateurs réclament des voitures plus petites. Par ailleurs, certains gouvernements abaissent les limites de vitesse. Les constructeurs automobiles étrangers ont un avantage sur le marché des voitures compactes et sous-compactes et, pour la première fois, des voitures importées – comme la Honda Civic – deviennent populaires sur le marché nord-américain.

Voitures

La Manic GT utilisait la plateforme et le train de roulement de la Renault 10, avec une carrosserie en fibre de verre.

1971

La Manic – fusion du design européen et américain pour créer une voiture canadienne.

À partir de 1968, une équipe dirigée par Jacques About, de Montréal, commence à mettre au point la Manic GT. Jacques About et son équipe pensaient pouvoir produire 1 300 voitures par année à l'usine de montage de Granby, au Québec. Malheureusement, la dépendance de l'entreprise à l'égard des pièces fournies par Renault se révélera fatale, car Renault se montre peu fiable et lent à l'approvisionner et ne réussit pas à satisfaire à la demande de l'usine de Granby, qui finit par fermer en mai 1971. Il ne sera produit que 160 Manic GT.

Photo : Musée des sciences et de la technologie du Canada 1984.0712

Mercury Meteor Montcalm de 1973 (édition anniversaire argent), Ford du Canada Limitée, Oakville (Ontario)

1973

La Meteor – cette « édition anniversaire » célèbre une voiture construite au Canada.

Ford crée la Mercury Meteor tout spécialement pour le marché canadien, en 1949. Elle est populaire pendant de nombreuses années au Canada et, en 1960, elle est lancée sur le marché américain. Quand la production de la Meteor est interrompue en 1976, il en est déjà sorti près de 600 000 exemplaires de l'usine Ford du Canada à Oakville, en Ontario. Cette Meteor a été fabriquée dans le cadre du Pacte de l'automobile (1965-2000) – accord commercial nord-américain qui soutenait l'industrie automobile canadienne.

Photo : Musée des sciences et de la technologie du Canada 1985.0108

La Bricklin SV-1

1975

Mise en redressement judiciaire de Bricklin, entreprise controversée.

Bien qu'assemblée au Canada, la Bricklin n'était vendue qu'aux États-Unis. À cause de problèmes techniques dus à la conception et à l'ingénierie de la voiture, celle-ci coûtait trois fois plus à produire que son prix de vente en gros. Bricklin Canada ferme ses portes en 1976, après avoir fabriqué moins de 3 000 voitures. En 2007, la Bricklin SV-1 se voit inscrite sur la liste des « 50 pires voitures de tous les temps » dressée par le magazine Time.

Photo : Musée des sciences et de la technologie du Canada 1975.0622

Dans l'actualité

Un caporal monte la garde près d’un mât au drapeau en berne à la mémoire de Pierre Laporte, ministre du Travail du Québec assassiné

1970

Au Canada, tous les regards sont rivés sur le Québec, tandis que se déroule la crise d'octobre et que le Parlement invoque la Loi sur les mesures de guerre.

La crise d'octobre est précipitée par l'enlèvement de James Cross, diplomate britannique, et de Pierre Laporte, ministre du gouvernement québécois, par le Front de libération du Québec (FLQ), groupe séparatiste. À la demande des autorités québécoises et montréalaises, Ottawa invoque la Loi sur les mesures de guerre, et ce pour la troisième fois seulement dans l'histoire du Canada. La Loi suspend les libertés publiques et confère au gouvernement et, par extension, à la police et à l'armée, des pouvoirs considérables en matière d'arrestation et de détention. Le lendemain de l'invocation de la Loi sur les mesures de guerre, la police retrouve le corps de Pierre Laporte dans le coffre d'une voiture. James Cross est finalement relâché. En échange, les autorités laissent ses ravisseurs s'envoler pour Cuba. Pendant la crise, des centaines de personnes sont arrêtées, mais vingt seulement se voient condamnées pour leurs activités.

Photo : 12 octobre 1970
Photo du MDN, VL70-155-7

Essai de collision entre une Chevrolet Bel Air de 1959 et une Chevrolet Malibu de 2009 effectué par l'Insurance Institute for Highway Safety

1971

Le Parlement canadien adopte la Loi sur la sécurité des véhicules automobiles.

En coopération avec les organismes nationaux et provinciaux chargés des normes et de la sécurité, Transports Canada définit des normes de sécurité nationales pour la conception et la construction et tous les véhicules motorisés. La Loi sur la sécurité des véhicules automobiles entre en vigueur le 1er janvier 1971.

Vidéo : 9 septembre 2009
Insurance Institute for Highway Safety

L'honorable Muriel McQueen Fergusson (1899-1997).

1972

Muriel Fergusson est la première femme à présider le Sénat.

Muriel McQueen Fergusson, qui était née au Nouveau-Brunswick, faisait figure de pionnière en matière de droits de la femme. Elle a occupé des postes de responsabilité dans sa province natale et, par ses efforts inlassables, elle a ouvert la voie aux Canadiennes. En 1976, elle a été faite Officier de l'Ordre du Canada.

Photo : Bibliothèque et Archives of Canada, PA-185700

Le rationnement de l'essence est annoncé dans un journal de l'après-midi, lu à une station-service à sec.

1973

L'embargo pétrolier décrété par l'OPEP fait quadrupler le prix du gaz à la consommation. Les stations d'essence sont à sec et, dans certaines régions, on commence à rationner.

L'embargo pétrolier décrété par l'OPEP repose sur les objections des pays membres arabes à la « décision des États-Unis de réapprovisionner l'armée israélienne » pendant la guerre israélo-arabe d'octobre 1973. Le prix du baril de pétrole fait un bond de 70 %. Résultat, les consommateurs nord-américains commencent à rechercher des voitures plus petites et plus économes. Ils se tournent vers les voitures d'importation, car les constructeurs automobiles nord-américains tardent à réagir à cette tendance.

Photo : Janvier 1974
National Archives and Records Administration

Panneau à la frontière canadienne rappelant aux automobilistes américains de convertir leur vitesse en kilomètres heure.

1977

Le gouvernement canadien décide d'adopter le système métrique de poids et mesures. Les autorités doivent donc changer tous les panneaux routiers pour indiquer les distances en kilomètres.

La décision de passer au système métrique tient surtout à la nécessité d'un système de mesure standard qui soit commun avec le reste du monde. Dans presque tous les pays du monde, vitesse et distance sont données aux automobilistes selon le système métrique, la plus grande exception étant les États-Unis.

Photo : 2009
Oran Viriyincy

Culture pop

Visite officielle du premier ministre Pierre Elliott Trudeau à Yellowknife, dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest

1971

Le gouvernement libéral de Pierre Trudeau annonce officiellement une politique canadienne de multiculturalisme.

L'immigration au Canada, des quatre coins du monde, avait beaucoup augmenté depuis 1945, transformant le paysage canadien en une véritable mosaïque culturelle. La politique de multiculturalisme encourageait les Canadiens à accepter ces nombreuses cultures comme faisant partie intégrante de l'identité culturelle du Canada. Elle reconnaissait l'évolution démographique du pays et l'importance sociale de la diversité ethnique.

Photo : vers 1970
Archives Glenbow NA-3500-30

Manifestants arpentant l'avenue Spadina

1971

Par une mobilisation et des protestations communautaires, les Torontois réussissent à empêcher le prolongement d'une voie rapide jusque dans les quartiers du centre-ville de Toronto.

Devant la suburbanisation croissante, la municipalité de la Communauté urbaine de Toronto accorde, dès 1954, la priorité à l'aménagement de voies rapides qui feront augmenter la circulation automobile de la périphérie de la ville en pleine croissance au cœur du centre-ville. Il est d'abord proposé en 1959 de prolonger la voie express de Spadina vers le sud, de la route 401 à la rue Bloor, ce qui aurait forcément entraîné la démolition de quartiers résidentiels et de parcs. Le projet rencontre aussitôt une vive opposition qui ne se dément pas par la suite. Des groupes communautaires, soutenus entre autres par Marshall McLuhan et Jane Jacobs, combattent l'administration municipale jusqu'en 1971, année où le premier ministre de l'Ontario, Bill Davis, retire le financement provincial, sonnant ainsi la fin du projet.

Photo : 6 décembre 1969
ASC Image 705, Stop Spadina Collection - Toronto Telegram Clara Thomas Archives and Special Collections, Université York

Un de trois satellites de communication Anik ont été construits pour Télésat Canada.

1972

En coopération avec le programme spatial américain, Télésat Canada lance le satellite Anik A, devenant ainsi le premier pays du monde à mettre un satellite en orbite à des fins non militaires.

Le satellite Anik a permis à des réseaux tels que la CBC/SRC de diffuser bien plus loin leur signal de radiodiffusion, jusque dans le Grand Nord canadien. Anik A disposait de 12 étiquettes radio, ce qui lui donnait une capacité de 7 000 circuits téléphoniques ou 12 chaînes de télévision couleur. Anik veut dire « petit frère » en inuktituk.

Photo : vers 1971
Telesat

La plupart des épreuves ont eu lieu au stade olympique de Montréal, surnommé « le grand O »

1976

Montréal organise les Jeux olympiques d'été.

Les Jeux olympiques de 1976 sont les seuls Jeux d'été jamais organisés par le Canada. Ils accueillent aussi les premières épreuves féminines de basketball, d'aviron et de handball. Une mauvaise gestion interne, qui entraîne un surcoût total de 1 milliard de dollars, jette une ombre sur les Jeux de Montréal. La colère que suscite une tournée de l'équipe de rugby de la Nouvelle-Zélande en Afrique du Sud, alors sous le régime de l'apartheid, se concrétise dans le boycott des Jeux par presque tous les pays africains.

Photo : Alain Carpentier