Skip To Content

Get Flash PlayerThis site uses Javascript and the Adobe Flash Player plugin. The plugin is available at


Thought by some to be a reaction against the conservatism and materialism of the 1950s, the 1960s was a decade of great social and cultural change. Civil Rights activists in the United States fought for equal rights for African Americans, while feminists did the same for women. Anti-war groups demanded the withdrawal of American troops from Vietnam. The "Space Race" reached a new milestone in July 1969 when the Americans landed Apollo 11 on the moon. For the first time, the automobile industry offered consumers their choice of cars in different size classes— compact, mid-size and full-size—while Sporty "Pony Cars" like the Mustang and the Camaro made their popular debut. Internationally, the nuclear arms race escalated between the Soviet Union and the United States, as each nation stockpiled their weapons. During this decade, Canada's first nuclear reactor was brought online and the first computer games were introduced to consumers.


The Montcalm, uniquely Canadian, as shown in the 1961 Mercury Meteor Montcalm Brochure


The Mercury Meteor Montcalm was a hit in Canada.

The Mercury Meteor brand was unique to the Canadian market. It was smaller and more economical than most American cars, making it popular with Canadians. Mercury increased the Meteor's appeal in Canada by giving distinctively Canadian names to each model, like 'Niagara,' 'Rideau,' and, in this case, 'Montcalm.'

Photo: 1961
Ford Motor Company of Canada Ltd.

Volvo B-18 Canadian, Volvo Canada Ltd., Halifax, Nova Scotia


The Volvo Amazon is re-branded for the Canadian market, and becomes known as a "Volvo Canadian".

The Volvo Canadian was a rebranded version of the Volvo Amazon, which was sold domestically in Sweden. Volvo's first foreign assembly plant was opened in Halifax, Nova Scotia, in 1963. Cars were sent from Sweden to Halifax in kits, and then assembled for the North American market.

Photo: 1966
Volvo Cars of Canada Corp.

The 1966 Studebaker Commander 230 arrives at the Canada Science and Technology Museum in 1969.


The Studebaker Commander: made in Canada.

In 1963, the company closed its South Bend, Indiana plant and consolidated all their North American operations at their Hamilton, Ontario division. The 66 Studebaker Commander was one of the last models ever produced at the Hamilton plant, which closed in 1966.

Photo: Canada Science and Technology Museum 1969.1030

In The News

Prime Minister Diefenbaker opening the Trans-Canada highway, in Rogers Pass, British Columbia


The Trans Canada Highway, running from Atlantic Canada to the Pacific, officially opens.

Prime Minister John Diefenbaker stamped down the "last" piece of asphalt in the Rogers Pass roadbed, and declared the Trans Canada officially open. However, the highway wasn't actually completed until 1971.

Photo: 1962
Library and Archives Canada/e006580621

Lester Pearson’s preferred choice for a new flag was nicknamed 'the Pearson Pennant.'


Canada gets a new flag.

Canada had been using different flags from its founding through to the first half of the 20th century, most of which reflected Canada's British Heritage. In the 1960s, however, the federal government of Lester B. Pearson decided that Canada needed a new symbol to replace the Red Ensign. The flag question divided the country, but after much acrimonious debate, the government adopted the current red and white flag with the maple leaf on December 15, 1964. On January 28, 1965, the National Flag of Canada was proclaimed by Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II, to take effect on February 15, 1965.

Illustration: 1964
Artist: Alan Brookman Beddoe

Aerial photograph of the GM Trim Plant, Windsor, Ontario


The Canada-U.S. Automotive Products Agreement, known as the Auto Pact, contributes to a boom in Canada's automotive sector.

Prior to the Auto Pact, the Canada and U.S. auto industries were relatively segregated—parts were generally made in the U.S. and the cars assembled in Canada. After the Pact, which saw the lifting of tariffs between the two countries, vehicles as well as parts travelled freely across the border. More cars were sold in Canada which had been assembled in the U.S. Fewer car models were being produced as a unified continental auto industry emerged. The Auto Pact invigorated the Canadian car industry and the economy as a whole. Jobs were created, wages in the sector increased, and the car and parts industry soon became Canada's most important industry. However, the Canadian auto industry was now firmly in the hands of American corporations, primarily the "Big Three"—Ford, General Motors and Chrysler. The Auto Pact was abolished in 2001, after a World Trade Organization ruling declared it illegal. By that time, the North American Free Trade Agreement, or NAFTA, had already been adopted.

Photo: 31 December 1965
The Windsor Star

Alberta Motor Association testing for pollution, Calgary, Alberta.


The United States government passes standards requiring exhaust emission control devices for all new cars in 1968.

Throughout the 1950s and 1960s, researchers had discovered that significant amounts of air pollution could be attributed to car exhaust. By the 1968 model year, the United States had passed legislation for emission control standards on all new cars. By 1971, Canada had followed suit.

Photo: April 27, 1972
Glenbow Archives, NA-2864-20951

Engineers working in the mission control centre, preparing for the launch of Apollo 11


On July 20th, 1969, Apollo 11 lands the first humans on the moon.

The mission fulfilled President John F. Kennedy's goal of having Americans reach the moon, before the Soviets, by the end of the 1960s. From 1969 to 1972, there were five more lunar missions under the Apollo program.

Photo: July 20, 1969
National Aeronautics and Space Administration. Office of Public Affairs

Pop Culture

A sample of a temporary SIN card


The social insurance number, or SIN, comes into use.

The social insurance number was originally instituted to help administer the Canada Pension Plan, and the various employment plans in Canada. Increasingly, it became a national identification card, requested by banks, employers, and other institutions in Canada.

Photo: Government of Canada

The mini is 'in' for flight stewardesses, Calgary, Alberta


Fashion designers shock the world with the introduction of the mini-skirt.

The mini-skirt, which would become a symbol of the British Invasion and the Swinging Sixties, made its debut in the fashionable Chelsea district of London, out of Mary Quant's clothing boutique. It took the world by storm, with many other designers creating their own versions of the mini-skirt, and pairing it up with tights, leggings, and boots.

Photo: October 1970
Glenbow Archives, NA-2864-6800

Ralph Nader during an interview


Ralph Nader publishes Unsafe at Any Speed: The Designed-In Dangers of the American Automobile.

Nader criticized automobile companies for designing cars that were unsafe, leading to numerous cases of injury and death. The publicity generated by the book contributed to the creation of the 1966 National Traffic and Motor Vehicle Safety Act in the US. It led to similar legislation in other countries, including the 1971 Canadian Motor Vehicle Safety Act.

Photo: September 10, 1975
Thomas J. O'Halloran, Library of Congress

Aerial view of Montreal's Expo 67 during the last day of the world's fair, October 27th, 1967


Canada welcomes the world to Montreal to celebrate its 100th birthday.

One of the most successful and popular of the world's fairs, Expo 67 showcased cutting-edge design, art, architecture, technology, and culture from around the world. By the exhibition's closing, over 50 million people had visited the fair, at a time when the population of Canada was only 20 million.

Photo: 27 October 1967
BAnQ, Centre d'archives de Montreal
Fonds Armour Landry
Armour Landry, P97, S1, P5783

Aller au contenu

Get Flash Player Ce site utilise Javascript et le plugin Adobe Flash Player. Le plugin est disponible a http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/

1960

Les années 1960 sont celles de grands changements sociaux et culturels, en réaction, selon certains, contre le conservatisme et le matérialisme des années 1950. Aux États-Unis, les militants des droits civiques se battent pour l'égalité des droits des Noirs américains, tandis que les féministes en font de même pour les femmes. Les groupes opposés à la guerre du Vietnam réclament le retrait des troupes américaines. En juillet 1969, la « course à l'espace » franchit une nouvelle étape avec l'alunissage de la fusée américaine Apollo 11. Pour la première fois, l'industrie automobile offre aux consommateurs le choix entre des voitures de différentes catégories – compacte, intermédiaire et grosse voiture. Par ailleurs, des voitures de sport situées entre la catégorie intermédiaire et la compacte, comme la Mustang et la Camaro, connaissent des débuts prometteurs. À l'échelle internationale, la course aux armes nucléaires se durcit entre l'Union soviétique et les États-Unis, les deux pays renforçant leur arsenal. Au cours de cette décennie, le premier réacteur nucléaire canadien entre en activité et les consommateurs découvrent les premiers jeux électroniques.

Voitures

La Montcalm, modèle exclusivement canadien, présentée dans la brochure de la Mercury Meteor Montcalm de 1961

1961

Succès de la marque Mercury Meteor au Canada.

La marque Mercury Meteor n'était diffusée que sur le marché canadien. Ses modèles étaient plus petits et plus économes que la plupart des voitures américaines, ce qui ne manquait pas de plaire aux Canadiens. Pour séduire les consommateurs canadiens, Mercury donnait aux modèles de Meteor des noms très canadiens, comme Niagara, Rideau et, dans ce cas-ci, Montcalm.

Photo : 1961
Ford du Canada Limitée

Volvo B-18 canadienne, Volvo Canada Ltée, Halifax (Nouvelle-Écosse)

1964

La Volvo Amazon change de nom pour le marché canadien et devient Volvo canadienne.

La Volvo canadienne était une version rebaptisée de la Volvo Amazon qui se vendait en Suède. Volvo a ouvert sa première usine de montage à l'étranger en 1963, à Halifax, en Nouvelle-Écosse. Les voitures étaient expédiées en pièces détachées depuis Suède jusqu'à Halifax, puis assemblées pour le marché nord-américain.

Photo : 1966
Volvo Cars of Canada Corp.

La Studebaker Commander 230, 1966, arrive au Musée des sciences et de la technologie du Canada en 1969.

1966

La Studebaker Commander : fabriquée au Canada.

En 1963, l'entreprise ferme son usine de South Bend, dans l'Indiana, et regroupe toutes ses activités nord-américaines dans sa succursale de Hamilton, en Ontario. La Studebaker Commander de 1966 fait partie des tout derniers modèles produits à l'usine de Hamilton, qui ferme en 1966.

Photo : Musée des sciences et de la technologie du Canada 1969.1030

Dans l'actualité

Le premier ministre John Diefenbaker inaugure la Transcanadienne à Rogers Pass, en Colombie-Britannique.

1962

Inauguration officielle de la Transcanadienne, qui traverse le Canada de l'Atlantique au Pacifique.

Le premier ministre John Diefenbaker dame le « dernier » bout d'asphalte sur la plateforme de Rogers Pass et déclare la Transcanadienne officiellement ouverte. Il faudra, cependant, attendre 1971 pour que la route soit tout à fait terminée.

Photo : 1962
Bibliothèque et Archives Canada/e006580621

Le drapeau que préférait Lester Pearson, surnommé le « fanion de Pearson »

1964

Le Canada se donne un nouveau drapeau.

Depuis sa fondation jusqu'à la première moitié du xxe siècle, le Canada a utilisé différents drapeaux qui, pour la plupart, rappelaient son héritage britannique. Dans les années 1960, toutefois, le gouvernement fédéral de Lester B. Pearson décide qu'il faut au Canada un nouveau symbole qui remplace le Pavillon rouge. La question du drapeau divise le pays, mais après un long débat acrimonieux, le gouvernement adopte l'actuel drapeau rouge et blanc frappé de la feuille d'érable le 15 décembre 1964. Le 28 janvier 1965, le drapeau national du Canada est proclamé par Sa Majesté la reine Elizabeth II, et il entre en vigueur le 15 février 1965.

Illustration : 1964
Artiste : Alan Brookman Beddoe

Photo aérienne de l'usine de garnitures General Motors à Windsor (Ontario)

1965

L'Accord canado-américain sur les produits de l'industrie automobile, mieux connu sous le nom de Pacte de l'automobile, contribue à un boom dans le secteur canadien de l'automobile.

Avant le Pacte de l'automobile, les industries automobiles canadienne et américaine étaient relativement séparées – les pièces étaient en général fabriquées aux États-Unis et les voitures, assemblées au Canada. Une fois le Pacte en place, les droits de douane entre les deux pays sont levés et les véhicules comme les pièces traversent librement la frontière. Un nombre plus élevé de voitures assemblées aux États-Unis sont vendues au Canada. Avec l'émergence d'une industrie automobile continentale unifiée, on produit moins de modèles. Le Pacte de l'automobile donne un nouvel essor à l'industrie automobile et à l'économie canadienne toute entière. Des emplois sont créés, les salaires dans le secteur augmentent, et l'industrie de l'automobile et des pièces ne tarde pas à devenir une des plus importantes du Canada. Cependant, cette industrie est maintenant bien entre les mains de grandes sociétés américaines, principalement des « trois Grands » – Ford, General Motors et Chrysler. Le Pacte de l'automobile est aboli en 2001, l'Organisation mondiale du commerce l'ayant déclaré illégal. L'Accord de libre-échange nord-américain, ou ALENA, est alors déjà adopté.

Photo : 31 décembre 1965
The Windsor Star

Test antipollution de l'Alberta Motor Association à Calgary, en Alberta.

1968

Les États-Unis adoptent des normes qui obligent à équiper toutes les nouvelles voitures de dispositifs de réduction des émissions de gaz d'échappement.

Durant les années 1950 et 1960, les chercheurs découvrent que la pollution atmosphérique est attribuable en grande partie aux gaz d'échappement des voitures. Dès l'année modèle 1968, les États-Unis ont adopté une loi sur les normes de lutte antipollution pour toutes les nouvelles voitures. Dès 1971, le Canada en fait de même.

Photo : 27 avril 1972
Archives Glenbow, NA-2864-20951

Ingénieurs préparant le décollage d'Apollo 11 au centre de lancement

1969

Le 20 juillet 1969, les premiers hommes se posent sur la lune à bord d'Apollo 11.

La mission réalise l'objectif du président John F. Kennedy de voir les Américains sur la lune avant les Soviétiques, et ce avant la fin des années 1960. Entre 1969 et 1972, le programme Apollo effectue cinq autres missions lunaires.

Photo : 20 juillet 1969
National Aeronautics and Space Administration. Office of Public Affairs

Culture pop

Spécimen de carte NAS temporaire

1964

Première utilisation du numéro d'assurance sociale, ou NAS.

Au départ, le numéro d'assurance sociale est institué pour aider à gérer le Régime de pensions du Canada et les différents régimes d'emploi canadiens. Par la suite, il se transforme de plus en plus en carte d'identité nationale demandée par les banques, les employeurs et d'autres institutions canadiennes.

Photo : Gouvernement du Canada

La mini-jupe adoptée par les hôtesses de l'air, à Calgary, en Alberta

1965

Les créateurs de mode choquent le monde en lançant la mini-jupe.

La mini-jupe, qui allait devenir un symbole de l'invasion britannique et des Swinging Sixties, cette décennie flamboyante, fait ses débuts dans Chelsea, quartier chic de Londres, où Mary Quant a sa boutique de vêtements. La mini-jupe connaît un succès phénoménal et bon nombre d'autres créateurs y vont de leurs propres versions, l'associant à des collants, des leggings et des bottes.

Photo : Octobre 1970
Archives Glenbow, NA-2864-6800

Ralph Nader au cours d'une entrevue

1965

Ralph Nader publie Unsafe at Any Speed: The Designed-In Dangers of the American Automobile, qui devient en français « Ces voitures qui tuent ».

Ralph Nader reproche aux constructeurs automobiles de concevoir des voitures qui sont peu sûres, d'où des accidents qui font de nombreux morts et blessés. La publicité générée par le livre contribue à l'adoption aux États-Unis, en 1966, du National Traffic and Motor Vehicle Safety Act. Des lois similaires suivront dans d'autres pays, y compris au Canada avec la Loi sur la sécurité des véhicules automobiles, en 1971.

Photo : 10 septembre 1975
Thomas J. O'Halloran, Library of Congress

Vue aérienne d'Expo 67 à Montréal, lors de la dernière journée de l'exposition, le 27 octobre 1967

1967

Le Canada accueille le reste du monde à Montréal à l'occasion de son 100e anniversaire.

Expo 67, qui restera une des expositions mondiales les plus réussies et les plus populaires, sera la vitrine de concepts de pointe, d'œuvres d'art et d'architecture, de technologies et de cultures du monde entier. À une époque où le Canada ne compte que 20 millions d'habitants, l'exposition accueille plus de 50 millions de visiteurs.

Photo : 27 octobre 1967
BAnQ, Centre d'archives de Montréal
Fonds Armour Landry
Armour Landry, P97, S1, P5783