Skip To Content

Get Flash PlayerThis site uses Javascript and the Adobe Flash Player plugin. The plugin is available at


The 1950s promised new social and technological developments. Economic growth made automobiles more affordable, and the romance with the car flourished. The victory during the War transformed returning soldiers into a newly confident workforce. Workers formed and joined unions, had fought for and won better wages, and more vacation time, and began buying houses, appliances and cars. Canadians were now having more babies—launching "The Baby Boom" era. The spread of new suburban communities and highways increased reliance on the car. For car design, it was the era of tail fins and heavy chrome. For teenagers, the birth of rock and roll. Politically, international tensions continued with the Korean War (1950-1953), the rise of communism in China and a socialist revolution in Cuba. In 1957, the Soviets launched the first orbiting satellite – the Sputnik 1 – taking the lead in the "Space Race." Fuelled by Cold War rivalries, the United States responded by engaging in frenzied research and development.


An ad for the Kaiser automobile emphasizing easy manoeuvrability thanks to the new power-steering system


Chrysler introduces the first power-steering system.

Power-steering allowed heavy, bulky vehicles to be manoeuvred more easily. It was invented by Francis W. Davis and George Jessup in the 1920s but made its commercial debut in Chrysler's 1951 Imperial. Most vehicles today have power-steering.

Illustration: Saturday Evening Post
May 16, 1953
Kaiser-Frazer Corporation
Canada Science and Technology Museum, deBondt Collection

The 1953 Pontiac Pathfinder from the Reynolds-Alberta Museum Collection


General Motors starts producing Canadian Pontiacs like the 1953 Pathfinder.

The Pathfinder had distinctive features not found on American Pontiacs, and the name was unique to those made in Canada. The car was built on a Chevrolet chassis but used a Pontiac engine and drive train.

Photo: Reynolds-Alberta Museum IC92.014

Oldsmobile Super 88 of General Motors of Canada Ltd., Oshawa, Ontario


The Oldsmobile Super 88 Deluxe is the single largest series produced in Canada.

There were over 2,700 Super 88 deluxe models and over 5,200 88 series models built in Oshawa for the 1956 model year.

Photo: Canada Science and Technology Museum 1993.0258

The 1958 Volkswagen Beetle from the collection of the Canada Science and Technology Museum.


The Volkswagen Beetle—Canadians love their "bugs".

The Beetle was first sold in Canada in 1952. Canadians loved it for its reliability, simplicity and low gas consumption. They also liked its low price. By 1960, the Beetle was Canada's third best-selling car.

Photo: Canada Science and Technology Museum 1983.0425

In The News

Crew at CBC TV Vancouver are about to film the title roll for the show “Cuisine 30”.


The Canadian Broadcasting Corporation/Societé Radio Canada transmits its first television broadcast from its Montreal, Quebec, station in September.

The CBC/SRC television network was created to serve a function similar to that of CBC Radio—to inform Canadians about their country and the world, to promote Canadian culture and achievements and to enhance national unity. A secondary goal was to counter the increasing cultural influences emanating from south of the border. In 1952, television was available to only 26% of Canadians. By 1954, that figure had skyrocketed to 60%, making Canada second in the world for live television production.

Photo: 1952
CBC/Alvin Armstrong

Front Street in Toronto being excavated to make way for the new subway


On March 31, 1954, the City of Toronto opens Canada's first subway system.

Built in anticipation of massive traffic jams in the downtown core from the looming post-war car boom, the first line was built under Yonge Street and included only 12 stops. The Toronto Transit Commission, or TTC, has expanded to become Canada's largest subway network. It has four lines and 69 stations that stretch over 68.3 kilometres of track. In 2008, the TTC had the largest ridership in Canada, averaging 2.4 million passengers a day across the system.

Photo: 1950
National Film Board of Canada – Photothèque / Library and Archives Canada / PA-111572

Lester Bowles Pearson, ca. 1965


Lester B. Pearson, a Canadian diplomat, wins the Nobel Peace Prize for his work to resolve the Suez Canal Crisis.

In the summer of 1956, the President of Egypt, Gamal Abdul Nasser, nationalized the Suez Canal Company, which had been run by the French with the British as its largest stakeholders. The Suez was a vital conduit for oil and was essential to the British economy. The rise of a new "car culture" in the western world had significantly increased the demand for oil and made nations like Britain dependent on oil producing countries. By the end of October of 1956, Israel, followed by British and French troops, entered Egypt in an attempt to seize control of the Suez Canal from Nasser. Pearson proposed the creation of a UN Emergency Force to supervise the end of hostilities, and the withdrawal of foreign troops. The first UN troops, led by Canadian forces, went to the area in November 1956.

Photo: ca. 1965
Ashley and Crippen/National Archives of Canada PA-126393

Nils Bohn, inventor of the three-point safety belt


Volvo is the first automaker to introduce seatbelts.

Edward J. Claghorn held the first U.S. Patent for his seatbelt invention in 1885, but the life-saving device was not perfected or sold commercially until the late 1950s. The modern "three-point" seatbelt was designed by Swedish inventor Nils Bohn and was introduced in the 1960 Volvo Amazon. The new seatbelt increased survival rates in accidents by 50 to 60%. Volvo quickly realized the life-saving importance of this invention, and released the patent to all automobile manufacturers.

Photo: ca. 1959
Volvo Personavagnar AB

Pop Culture

Canada's first covered park-and-shop mall, Park Royal Shopping Centre in Vancouver, British Columbia


Park Royal Shopping Centre, in Vancouver, British Columbia, is Canada's first park-and-shop mall.

British Properties, owned by Vancouver's wealthy Guiness family, designed and built an exclusive housing development in West Vancouver. British Properties believed that the addition of a shopping centre would serve existing residents as well as attract new ones, and so they built the Park Royal Shopping Centre. Shopping malls, designed with cars in mind, quickly became a staple of urban living in Canada. In 1956 there were 64 shopping centres in Canada. By 1960 that number had grown to 231.

Photo: 1952
Art Jones, Vancouver Public Library,

Suburbs along Maitland Avenue in west-end Ottawa


William Levitt builds Levittown, New York – North America's first post-war suburban community.

William Levitt is considered the father of modern suburban development, and Levittown became a model for future housing developments. Levittown initially consisted of 17,400 homes with 82,000 residents. The homes were mass-produced using an "assembly line" approach which also kept the costs relatively low for tenants and home buyers. Due to their distance from city centres, suburbs required that residents drive to work, thus increasing dependence on the automobile.

Photo: Alex Onoszko, City of Ottawa Archives (COA), 18-D 86, CA-8153

Sergeant Rick Weiler, of the Wellington County OPP, uses a radar gun to catch speeding drivers.


Radar guns are used to trap speeding motorists by police in Chicago, Illinois, for the first time.

As automakers designed cars to go faster and faster, the enforcing of speed limits as a safety measure became more important. The radar gun or "speed gun" was invented by Bryce K. Brown of Decatur Electronics as a means for police to track the speed of vehicles. The technology used to catch speeding cars is now also used to clock times during sporting events, such as measuring the speed of a thrown baseball.

Photo: 2007
Dave Carter, Guelph Mercury

Photo of the Elgin Street theatre ca. 1975.


Canada becomes the first country in the world to have a two screen theatre where patrons could choose from two different movies in the same theatre.

The Elgin Street Theatre in Ottawa was converted to a two-screen venue by Canadian theatre owner Nat Taylor, who went on to invent the "Cineplex" or "multiplex" theatres.

Photo: ca. 1975
City of Ottawa Archives, 18926

Aller au contenu

Get Flash Player Ce site utilise Javascript et le plugin Adobe Flash Player. Le plugin est disponible a http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/

1950

Les années 1950 promettent d'autres changements sociaux et technologiques. Avec la croissance économique, l'automobile devient plus abordable, et l'engouement qu'elle suscite bat son plein. Au retour de la guerre, les soldats victorieux se transforment en une main-d'œuvre remplie d'une assurance nouvelle. Les travailleurs créent des syndicats et y adhèrent, se battent pour de meilleurs salaires et les obtiennent, ainsi que plus de congés, et ils commencent à acheter des maisons, des appareils ménagers et des voitures. Les Canadiens font plus d'enfants, et ainsi commence le baby-boom. Avec l'étalement des nouvelles banlieues et les routes, la voiture occupe une place plus importante. Quant à la conception des voitures, c'est l'époque des ailettes arrière et des chromes en abondance. Pour les adolescents, c'est la naissance du rock and roll. Sur le plan politique, les tensions internationales continuent avec la guerre de Corée (1950-1953), l'avènement du communisme en Chine et une révolution socialiste à Cuba. En 1957, les Soviétiques mettent un premier satellite en orbite – Spoutnik 1 –, prenant ainsi la tête de la « course à l'espace » alimentée par les rivalités de la guerre froide. Les États-Unis répondent en se lançant dans des programmes de recherche et développement effrénés.

Voitures

Publicité d'une voiture de la marque Kaiser mettant l'accent sur la facilité des manœuvres grâce à la nouvelle direction assistée

1951

Chrysler est le premier à proposer la direction assistée.

La direction assistée permet de manœuvrer plus facilement des véhicules lourds et massifs. On en doit l'invention à Francis W. Davis et George Jessup, dans les années 1920, mais le dispositif fait ses débuts commerciaux sur le modèle Imperial de 1951 de Chrysler. La plupart des véhicules sont aujourd'hui équipés de ce que l'on appelle maintenant la servodirection.

Illustration : Saturday Evening Post
16 mai 1953
Kaiser-Frazer Corporation
Musée des sciences et de la technologie du Canada, Collection deBondt

La Pontiac Pathfinder 1953 de la collection du musée Reynolds-Alberta

1953

General Motors commence à produire des Pontiac au Canada, comme la Pathfinder de 1953.

La Pathfinder était équipée d'options qui n'existaient pas sur les Pontiac américaines et le nom était réservé au modèle fabriqué au Canada. La voiture était dotée d'un châssis Chevrolet mais équipée d'un moteur et d'une transmission Pontiac.

Photo : Reynolds-Alberta Museum IC92.014

Oldsmobile Super 88 de General Motors du Canada Limitée, Oshawa (Ontario)

1956

L'Oldsmobile Super 88 Deluxe est la série la plus importante jamais produite au Canada.

Il est sorti des chaînes d'Oshawa plus de 2 700 exemplaires de Super 88, modèle de luxe, et plus de 5 200 exemplaires de la série 88 pour l'année modèle 1956.

Photo : Musée des sciences et de la technologie du Canada 1993.0258

La Coccinelle de Volkswagen, modèle 1958, de la collection du Musée des sciences et de la technologie du Canada

1958

La Coccinelle de Volkswagen plaît aux Canadiens.

La Coccinelle fait son apparition au Canada en 1952. Les Canadiens apprécient sa fiabilité, sa simplicité et le fait qu'elle consomme peu, sans oublier son prix modique. En 1960, la Coccinelle se classe au troisième rang des ventes de voitures au Canada.

Photo : Musée des sciences et de la technologie du Canada 1983.0425

Dans l'actualité

Des techniciens de la CBC TV de Vancouver s’apprêtent à filmer le titre de l’émission « Cuisine 30 ».

1952

En septembre, la Canadian Broadcasting Corporation / Société Radio Canada transmet sa première émission de télévision depuis sa station de Montréal, au Québec.

Le réseau de télévision CBC/SRC a été créé pour remplir une mission semblable à celle de CBC Radio/Radio Canada, à savoir informer les Canadiens au sujet de leur pays et du monde, faire connaître la culture et les réalisations canadiennes, et renforcer l'unité nationale. L'objectif secondaire était de contrer une influence culturelle américaine croissante. En 1952, seuls 26 % des Canadiens ont accès à la télévision. En 1954, ils sont 60 % et le Canada est passé au deuxième rang mondial pour ce qui est de la production télévisée en direct.

Photo : 1952
CBC/Alvin Armstrong

Excavations dans la rue Front à Toronto pour aménager le nouveau métro

1954

Le 31 mars, la ville de Toronto inaugure le premier métro canadien.

Construite en prévision d'embouteillages massifs dans le centre-ville que laisse présager le boom de l'automobile de l'après-guerre, la première ligne passe sous la rue Yonge et ne compte que 12 arrêts. La Toronto Transit Commission, ou TTC, exploite aujourd'hui le plus grand réseau de métro au Canada. Avec ses quatre lignes et ses 69 stations, il couvre 68,3 kilomètres de voies. En 2008, la TTC transporte le plus grand nombre de passagers au Canada, soit en moyenne 2,4 millions par jour sur l'ensemble du réseau.

Photo : 1950
Office national du film du Canada – Photothèque/ Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / PA-111572

Lester Bowles Pearson, vers 1965

1957

Lester B. Pearson, diplomate canadien, se voit décerner le prix Nobel de la paix pour sa contribution à la résolution de la crise du canal de Suez.

À l'été 1956, le président de l'Égypte, Gamal Abdel Nasser, nationalise la Suez Canal Company que dirigeaient les Français et les Britanniques, qui en étaient les principaux actionnaires. Le canal de Suez était essentiel pour le transport du pétrole et pour l'économie britannique. La nouvelle « culture de la voiture » dans le monde occidental faisait beaucoup augmenter la demande de pétrole et rendait des pays comme la Grande-Bretagne dépendants des pays producteurs de pétrole. Fin octobre 1956, l'armée israélienne, suivie par des troupes britanniques et françaises, entre en Égypte pour reprendre à Gamal Nasser le contrôle du canal de Suez. Lester B. Pearson propose la création d'une force d'urgence de l'ONU chargée de superviser la fin des hostilités et le retrait des troupes étrangères. Les premiers soldats de l'ONU, placés sous commandement canadien, arrivent sur place en novembre 1956.

Photo : vers 1965
Ashley and Crippen / Archives nationales du Canada PA-126393

Nils Bohn, inventeur de la ceinture de sécurité à trois points d'arrimage

1959

Volvo est le premier constructeur automobile à équiper ses véhicules de ceintures de sécurité.

Le premier brevet américain pour des ceintures de sécurité est accordé en 1885 à l'inventeur Edward J. Claghorn, mais ce dispositif qui permet de sauver des vies ne sera pas perfectionné ou commercialisé avant la fin des années 1950. On doit à l'inventeur suédois Nils Bohn sa version moderne à trois points d'arrimage dont Volvo équipera son modèle Amazon en 1960. La nouvelle ceinture fait augmenter de 50 % à 60 % les taux de survie en cas d'accident. Se rendant vite compte que cette invention sauverait des vies, Volvo a mis le brevet à la disposition de tous les constructeurs automobiles.

Photo : vers 1959
Volvo Personavagnar AB

Culture pop

Le centre commercial Park Royal à Vancouver, en Colombie-Britannique, est le premier au Canada spécialement conçu pour les automobilistes

1950

Le centre commercial Park Royal à Vancouver, en Colombie-Britannique, est le premier au Canada spécialement conçu pour les automobilistes.

British Properties, propriété de la riche famille Guiness de Vancouver, dessine et construit dans West Vancouver un ensemble résidentiel exclusif. British Properties était convaincu qu'un nouveau centre commercial serait apprécié par ses résidents et qu'il attirerait d'autres clients, et c'est ainsi que fut construit le centre commercial Park Royal. Les centres commerciaux, conçus en pensant aux automobilistes, allaient rapidement devenir indissociables de la vie urbaine au Canada. En 1956, on en comptait 64 dans le pays. Dès 1960, ce nombre était passé à 231.

Photo : 1952
Art Jones, Vancouver Public Library,
VPL81959

Banlieues le long de l'avenue Maitland, dans l'Ouest d'Ottawa

1951

William Levitt construit Levittown, dans l'état de New York – première communauté de banlieue nord-américaine de l'après-guerre.

William Levitt est considéré comme le père de l'aménagement des banlieues modernes, et Levittown est devenu un modèle pour les futurs ensembles résidentiels. Levittown compte initialement 17 400 maisons pour 82 000 habitants. Les maisons sont produites en série en s'inspirant de la méthode des chaînes de montage, ce qui permet aussi de limiter les coûts pour les locataires et les futurs propriétaires. En raison de la distance qui les sépare des centres-villes, les banlieues obligent leurs habitants à se rendre au travail en voiture, augmentant ainsi la dépendance envers l'automobile.

Photo : Alex Onoszko, Archives de la ville d'Ottawa (AVO), 18-D 86, CA-8153

Le sergent Rick Weiler, de l'unité de gestion de la circulation de la Police provinciale de l'Ontario du comté de Wellington, utilise un pistolet radar pour attraper les conducteurs en excès de vitesse

1954

Pour la première fois, la police de Chicago, dans l'Illinois, utilise des pistolets radar pour piéger les automobilistes en excès de vitesse.

Les constructeurs automobiles concevant des voitures de plus en plus rapides, il devient plus important de faire respecter des limites de vitesse par mesure de sécurité. Le pistolet radar est inventé par Bryce K. Brown, de Decatur Electronics, pour aider la police à connaître la vitesse des véhicules. La technologie utilisée pour attraper les auteurs d'excès de vitesse est également utilisée à présent pour chronométrer des temps dans des manifestations sportives, par exemple la vitesse d'une balle de baseball lancée.

Photo : 2007
Dave Carter, Guelph Mercury

Photo du cinéma de la rue Elgin vers 1975.

1957

Le Canada devient le premier pays dans le monde à avoir un cinéma à deux salles, autrement dit qui propose deux films en même temps.

Le cinéma de la rue Elgin à Ottawa a été divisé en deux salles par son propriétaire, Nat Taylor, qui a ensuite inventé les « Cineplex » ou cinémas « multiplexes ».

Photo : vers 1975
Archives de la ville d'Ottawa, 18926