Skip To Content

Get Flash PlayerThis site uses Javascript and the Adobe Flash Player plugin. The plugin is available at


Hitler's invasion of Poland in 1939 marked the beginning of the Second World War. The War brought economic growth in the early 1940s, but a temporary halt to non-military production. When the war ended in 1945, the world's nations set out to painfully rebuild economies, cities and lives. Countries across the world, including Canada and the United States, conducted significant research and development during the war to improve weapons and vehicles. Much of this research was used in peace time to develop new technologies for everyday life. Commercial aviation benefitted from radar, which had been used in aircrafts and ships, and from mobile radio communications, used in emergency vehicles, as well as pressurized air cabins, now available in civilian airliners. Microwave technology was re-worked to be used in a modern time-saving device: the microwave oven. Approximately 1,120,000 vehicles were sold in Canada during this decade.


The 1941 Dodge D19S Luxury Liner Special with Chrysler's 'Fluid Drive' transmission


Dodge automobiles are now equipped with Chrysler's "Fluid Drive" transmissions.

Since most automakers had switched to wartime production during the Second World War, the changes in Dodge from 1940 to 1941 were mainly cosmetic. One of the few mechanical changes was Chrysler's Fluid-Drive, which was now available as an option on Dodges for the first time. Fluid Drive served to minimize the use of the clutch on a manual transmission, making acceleration smoother with less vibration, and was a predecessor to the fully automatic transmission. This model was built in Canada.

Photo: Reynolds-Alberta Museum I.C.96.24.1

The 1947 Cadillac was considered to be the most attractive of those produced in the 1940s and was especially popular among Hollywood celebrities.


The 1947 Cadillac is the last model released before the introduction of the distinctive tail-fin feature in 1948.

The post-war Cadillac design benefitted from the company's war time experience of building light tanks and motorized gun carriers. The car's parts and systems were improved and strengthened for reliability and performance for civilian use. The post 1947 Cadillac's tail-fin feature was inspired by aircraft design.

Photo: Canada Science and Technology Museum 1977.0613

The 1947 Chevrolet Fleetmaster


The 1947 Chevrolet Fleetmaster sells for between $1200 and $1,900 new.

In the years following WWII, there was little new civilian vehicle design. However, consumers were ready to purchase cars, even if the design was very similar to that of pre-war vehicles. The 1947 Chevrolet Fleetmaster was a worked over version of the 1942 Fleetmaster. 264,584 were produced.

Photo: Canada Science and Technology Museum 1970.0104

The 1947 Chrysler C39 Convertible


Chrysler cars offer post-war consumers durable, comfortable family cars.

The Chrysler C39 in the collection of the Canada Science and Technology Museum is one of two survivors of the original twenty-four cars that were produced for the Canadian market.

Photo: Canada Science and Technology Museum 1976.0356

In The News

Troops of Stormont, Dundas and Glengarry Highlanders going ashore from LCI 299 (left) at Bernières-sur-mer, Normandy


On June 6th—known as "D-Day"—the Allied forces of Great Britain, Canada, and the United States attack German forces on the beaches in Normandy, France.

In a carefully coordinated effort involving attacks from land, sea, and air, Allied forces breached "Fortress Europe," and broke through German lines defending the coast. It was an important victory for the Allies, one which gave them a foothold in Europe. Approximately 14,000 Canadians participated in the Normandy campaign. Of those, some 5,000 were killed. 359 died on D-Day alone.

Photo: 6 June 1944
Gilbert A. Milne / Canada Dept of National Defence / Library and Archives Canada / PA-137013

The Trinity explosion rises over the desert.


On July 16th, 1945, the United States military tests the first atomic bomb in New Mexico.

The United States, in collaboration with Great Britain and Canada, secretly worked on the development of an atomic bomb, referred to as the Manhattan Project. The test in New Mexico was called Trinity, named by the lead scientist, J. Robert Oppenheimer, after a poem by the 17th century English poet, John Donne. Shortly after this test, the U.S. military decided to use the atomic bomb against Japan with the goal of forcing a Japanese surrender. On August 6th, the first bomb was dropped on the city of Hiroshima, and a second bomb hit Nagasaki on August 9th. Hundreds of thousands of Japanese civilians were killed in the bombings, or died of injuries and radiation sickness in the aftermath.

Video: 16 July 1945
U.S. Department of Energy

Signing of the Trans-Canada Highway agreement, in the Railway Committee Room of the Parliament Building


Parliament passes the Trans-Canada Highway Act, which ensures cost sharing between the federal government and the provinces for a highway that would join all the provinces of Canada.

The Trans-Canada highway is one of the world's longest highways at 8,030 km, and extends from Newfoundland in the east to Vancouver Island in the west. Construction began in 1950, and the first section was opened by Prime Minister John Diefenbaker in 1962. The final section was added in 1971.

Photo: 1949
National Film Board of Canada, Library and Archives Canada, PA-196291

Prime Minister Louis St. Laurent and Hon. A.J. Walsh shake hands following the signing of the agreement admitting Newfoundland to Confederation.  Ottawa, Ontario.


Newfoundland becomes Canada's 10th province.

Previously a dominion separate from Canada with ties to Great Britain, Newfoundland did not join Confederation easily. There was significant opposition to the idea of joining Canada but Joey Smallwood, who supported the union and who would become the province's first premier, won the day. Two referenda were held in 1948—the first gave the anti-Confederation side more votes, but not a plurality. The second referendum gave the Confederation side enough votes to accept Canada's offer and Newfoundland became the 10th province.

Photo: December 1948
National Film Board of Canada/ Library and Archives Canada / PA-133280

Pop Culture

“Just Married”


The average cost of a new car is $850 and the average annual salary is $1,900.

At the beginning of the Second World War, the price of a new car was less than half of the average annual salary. The shift to a wartime economy created economic growth, more employment and greater incomes. This growth made automobiles increasingly more affordable and would help to usher in the car culture of the post-1950s.

Photo: 1942
City of Edmonton Archives EA-160-898

Canada's first Drive In Theater, the Skyway, was opened in 1946 and closed in 1970.


Canada's first drive-in theatre opens in Stoney Creek, Ontario and has room for 750 cars.

The popularity of drive-in theatres peaked in the 1950s and 1960s, when most Canadian cities had at least one drive-in. A reflection of North America's love affair with the automobile, drive-in theatres offered in-car speakers, snack concessions and, perhaps most importantly, privacy for teenagers on date night. Starting in the 1970s, the large areas of land used by drive-ins had become valuable for real estate development, and the decline of the drive-in theatre began. Drive-ins still exist today, but are mostly a novelty.

Photo: Courtesy of the Erland Lee Museum

Photo of the Baby computer


Researchers at Victoria University in Manchester, England, build the Small-Scale Experimental Machine, or "The Baby," which is believed to be the first operable electronic digital computer that stored its programs internally.

"The Baby" was built using metal office racks and hundreds of valves or vacuum tubes. The keyboard was a series of buttons and switches. The machine was not portable—it took up a whole room—and information was read directly off a cathode ray tube.

Photo: ca. 1948
University of Manchester

The De Havilland Comet was the world's first commercial jet airliner


The first commercial jet airliner flies for the first time.

The world's first commercial jet airliner, the 36-seat Comet 1, made by De Havilland, flies for the first time on July 27.

Photo: Airline History Website

Aller au contenu

Get Flash Player Ce site utilise Javascript et le plugin Adobe Flash Player. Le plugin est disponible a http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/

1940

L'invasion de la Pologne par Hitler en 1939 marque le commencement de la Deuxième Guerre mondiale. Au début des années 1940, la guerre alimente la croissance économique, mais entraîne l'interruption temporaire de la production non militaire. Une fois la guerre terminée en 1945, les pays entreprennent de reconstruire à grand-peine leur économie, leurs villes et la vie de leurs citoyens. Pendant la guerre, plusieurs pays, dont le Canada et les États-Unis, ont fait beaucoup de travaux de recherche et développement pour améliorer armes et véhicules, et les fruits de cette recherche serviront en temps de paix à mettre au point de nouvelles technologies utilisées dans la vie quotidienne. L'aviation commerciale bénéficie de l'invention du radar (jusque-là utilisé à bord des aéronefs et des navires), des radiocommunications mobiles (utilisées sur les véhicules de secours) et des cabines à air pressurisé (qui équipent à présent les avions de ligne civils). La technologie des hyperfréquences est réorientée pour servir dans un appareil moderne source de gains de temps : le four à micro-ondes. Au cours de cette décennie, il se vend environ 1 120 000 véhicules au Canada.

Cars

La Dodge D19S Luxury Liner Special 1941, construite an Canada, - équipée de la transmission « Fluid Drive » de Chrysler

1941

Les voitures Dodge sont équipées de la transmission « Fluid Drive » de Chrysler.

Étant donné que la plupart des constructeurs automobiles orientent leur production pour soutenir l'effort de guerre, les Dodge subissent très peu de modifications entre 1940 et 1941. La transmission « Fluid Drive » de Chrysler est un des rares changements mécaniques offert sur la Dodge pour la première fois cette année là. Cette transmission diminue l'utilisation de l'embrayage rendant ainsi l'accélération plus douce en diminuant la vibration. Elle est l'ancêtre de la transmission automatique.

Photo : Musée Reynolds-Alberta I.C.96.24.1

La Cadillac 1947, qui était considérée comme le plus séduisant des modèles produits dans les années 1940, plaisait tout particulièrement aux célébrités hollywoodiennes

1947

La Cadillac 1947 est le dernier modèle lancé avant l'apparition des ailerons caractéristiques, en 1948.

Après la guerre, Cadillac met à profit l'expérience acquise pendant le conflit avec la fabrication de chars légers et de porte-canon motorisés. Les pièces et les systèmes sont améliorés et renforcés afin que les véhicules soient fiables et performants pour un usage civil. L'aileron caractéristique des Cadillac après 1947 s'inspire des profils aéronautiques.

Photo : Musée des sciences et de la technologie du Canada 1977.0613

La Chevrolet Fleetmaster de 1947

1947

La Chevrolet Fleetmaster de 1947 se vend entre 1 200 $ et 1 900 $ neuve.

Dans les années qui suivent la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, on n'innove guère dans le design automobile civil. Cependant, les consommateurs sont prêts à acheter des voitures, même si la conception ressemble beaucoup à celle de l'avant-guerre. La Chevrolet Fleetmaster de 1947, version revisitée de la Fleetmaster de 1942, sera produite à 264 584 exemplaires.

Photo : Musée des sciences et de la technologie du Canada 1970.0104

La Chrysler C39 décapotable de 1947

1948

Après la guerre, Chrysler propose aux consommateurs des voitures familiales durables et confortables.

Sur les 24 exemplaires de la Chrysler C39 produits à l'origine pour le marché canadien, il n'en reste que deux, dont celui de la collection du Musée des sciences et de la technologie du Canada.

Photo : Musée des sciences et de la technologie du Canada 1976.0356

Dans l'actualité

Débarquement des troupes des Stormont, Dundas et Glengarry Highlanders du LCI 299 (à gauche) à Bernières-sur-mer, en Normandie

1944

Le 6 juin – appelé le jour J –, les forces alliées de la Grande Bretagne, du Canada et des États-Unis attaquent les forces allemandes sur les plages de Normandie, en France.

Dans le cadre d'une opération soigneusement coordonnée comportant des attaques terrestres, maritimes et aériennes, les forces alliées ouvrent une brèche dans la « forteresse Europe » et percent les lignes allemandes qui défendent la côte. Cette victoire est importante pour les alliés, car elle leur permet de prendre pied en Europe. Sur les quelque 14 000 Canadiens qui participent à la campagne de Normandie, environ 5 000 sont tués, dont 359 rien que le jour J.

Photo : 6 juin 1944
Gilbert A. Milne / Ministère de la Défense nationale du Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / PA-137013

TChampignon dégagé par l'explosion de Trinity au-dessus du désert

1945

Le 16 juillet 1945, l'armée américaine fait exploser la première bombe atomique lors d'essais effectués au Nouveau Mexique.

En collaboration avec la Grande-Bretagne et le Canada, les États-Unis mènent secrètement le Projet Manhattan, un travail de recherche pour mettre au point une bombe atomique. Trinity est le nom de code, inspiré par un poème de John Donne, poète anglais du xviie siècle, que le scientifique J. Robert Oppenheimer, directeur du programme, a donné à l'essai réalisé au Nouveau Mexique. Peu après cet essai, l'armée américaine décide d'utiliser la bombe atomique contre le Japon pour le contraindre à capituler. Le 6 août, la première bombe est larguée sur la ville d'Hiroshima et le 9 août, une deuxième frappe Nagasaki. Des centaines de milliers de civils japonais périssent dans les bombardements ou succombent par la suite à leurs blessures et au mal des rayons.

Vidéo : 16 juillet 1945
Département de l'Énergie des États-Unis

Signature de l'Entente sur la route transcanadienne dans la Salle du Comité des chemins de fer, dans l'édifice du Parlement

1949

Le Parlement adopte la Loi sur la route transcanadienne, qui garantit le partage des coûts entre le gouvernement fédéral et les provinces pour une route qui reliera entre elles toutes les provinces du Canada.

La route transcanadienne, qui s'étire sur 8 030 km, depuis Terre-Neuve à l'est jusqu'à l'île de Vancouver à l'ouest, compte parmi les plus longues du monde. Les travaux ont commencé en 1950 et le premier tronçon a été inauguré par le premier ministre John Diefenbaker en 1962. L'ajout du dernier tronçon remonte à 1971.

Photo : 1949
Office national du film du Canada, Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, PA-196291

Le premier ministre Louis S. St. Laurent et l’honorable A.J. Walsh se serrent la main après la signature de l’accord admettant Terre-Neuve dans la fédération.  Ottawa (Ontario).

1949

Terre-Neuve devient la dixième province du Canada.

Terre-Neuve, jusque-là dominion séparé du Canada, entretenait des liens avec la Grande-Bretagne, et son entrée dans la fédération n'est pas allée de soi. L'opposition des Terre-Neuviens à l'idée de faire partie du Canada est grande, mais Joey Smallwood, favorable à l'union, qui deviendra par la suite le premier premier ministre de la province, l'emporte. Deux référendums sont organisés en 1948. Au premier, les opposants à la fédération obtiennent plus de voix, mais pas la majorité. Au second, les partisans de la fédération en obtiennent assez pour accepter la proposition du Canada, et Terre-Neuve devient la dixième province.

Photo : Décembre 1948
Office national du film du Canada / Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / PA-133280

Culture pop

« Jeunes mariés »

1940

Une voiture neuve coûte en moyenne 850 $ et le salaire annuel moyen s'élève à 1 900 $.

Au début de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, une voiture neuve coûtait moins de la moitié du salaire annuel moyen. La croissance économique créée par l'effort de guerre généra plus d'emploies et une augmentation des revenues. Par conséquent, les voitures devinrent plus abordables ce qui contribua à l'émergence de la culture automobile des années post-1950.

Photo : 1942
Archives de la ville d'Edmonton EA-160-898

Le Skyway, premier ciné-parc canadien, a ouvert en 1946 et fermé en 1970.

1946

Ouverture à Stoney Creek, en Ontario, du premier ciné-parc canadien, qui peut accueillir 750 voitures.

Les ciné-parcs sont très populaires dans les années 1950 et 1960, époque où la plupart des villes canadiennes en comptent au moins un. Témoignages de l'engouement nord-américain pour l'automobile, les ciné-parcs proposent à leur clientèle des haut-parleurs individuels, des concessions à grignotines et, surtout peut-être, ils permettent aux adolescents de s'isoler pour leurs rendez-vous amoureux. Dans les années 1970, les promoteurs immobiliers commencent à s'intéresser aux grands terrains utilisés pour les ciné-parcs, d'où le début de leur déclin. Il existe encore des ciné-parcs aujourd'hui, mais ils sont peu nombreux et sont surtout des endroits de fantaisie.

Photo : Avec l'aimable autorisation du Musée Erland Lee

Photo de l'ordinateur « Baby »

1948

Des chercheurs de l'Université Victoria de Manchester, en Angleterre, construisent la Small-Scale Experimental Machine, dite « The Baby », qui est considérée comme le premier ordinateur numérique électronique exploitable à programmes intégrés.

« The Baby » a été construit avec des casiers de bureau métalliques et des centaines de valves et de tubes à vide. Le clavier se résumait à une série de boutons et d'interrupteurs. La machine n'était pas portable – elle occupait toute une pièce – et l'information se lisait directement sur un tube cathodique.

Photo : vers 1948
Université de Manchester

Le Comet de De Havilland, premier avion de ligne commercial à réaction au monde

1949

Premier vol du premier avion de ligne commercial à réaction.

Le premier avion de ligne commercial à réaction, le Comet 1, construit par De Havilland et comportant 36 sièges, effectue son premier vol le 27 juillet.

Photo : Airline History Website