Skip To Content

Get Flash PlayerThis site uses Javascript and the Adobe Flash Player plugin. The plugin is available at http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/

1930

The Great Depression's impact was felt around the world. International trade plummeted by two thirds. Canadian manufacturing and primary industries such as logging, mining and agriculture, were hit particularly hard. Joblessness soared to 30% in Canada, and up to 33% in some countries. This period saw advances in new technologies, such as the invention of FM radio by Edward Armstrong, and the first transatlantic flight by Pan Am. Galvin Manufacturing Corporation introduced the first car radio in 1930, which became standard equipment by 1950. Economic hardship fueled the rise of right wing parties across the world. In Germany, the National Socialist (Nazi) Party rose to power under Adolf Hitler, followed by Germany's invasion of Poland in 1939. Canadians made and purchased fewer cars, and many car owners could not afford gasoline. Nonetheless, approximately 760,000 cars were sold in Canada in this decade.

Cars

The 1931 custom-built McLaughlin-Buick was built by Smith Body Works Ltd. In Toronto using the chassis of a 1931 McLaughlin-Buick.

1931

The GMC Buick Custom was built by Smith Body Works Ltd. in Toronto using the chassis of a 1931 McLaughlin-Buick.

Win Barron was one of the first hosts of the CBC quiz show "Front Page Challenge", which ran from 1957 to 1995.

Photo: Canada of Science and Technology Museum 1977.0278

The Frontenac was considered one of the last Canadian cars.

1932

The Canadian production of the Frontenac is so successful it becomes independent of Durant Motors, its American parent company. The new Canadian company that emerges in 1931 is called Dominion Motors Ltd.

To help make cars seem more Canadian, manufacturers would sometimes name them after Canadian historical figures. The Frontenac was named after Count Frontenac, who was the governor of New France (1672-1682 and 1689-1698). The 1960 Ford Frontenac was another car named after Count Frontenac.

Photo: Canada Science and Technology Museum, de Bondt Collection

Advertisement for the Chrysler Airflow, Canadian Home Journal

1934

The streamlined form of the Chrysler Airflow marks a radical shift in car design.

The cars rounded nose and features, which made it more aerodynamic, stood out in the era of box shaped cars. The bold attempt to release the Airflow took a financial toll on Chrysler as the public was very slow to adopt the new radical design. However, the rounded, curved look would become a popular trend for automobiles in the decades to come.

Photo: 1934
Canada Science and Technology Museum, deBondt Collection.

The La Salle from the collection of the Canada Science and Technology Museum

1936

The La Salle is introduced in the US in 1927 as the low-end of the Cadillac line. It is the first automobile to be designed by a stylist rather than an engineer or mechanic.

The La Salle in the Canada of Science and Technology Museum's collection is one of only several hundred that were built annually in Oshawa between 1927 and 1936, the last year of Canadian production. The last year of American production was 1940.

Photo: Canada Science and Technology Museum 2000.0087

The Packard 120 series introduced new technologies and design, which influenced subsequent Packard models.

1936

In 1936, Packard designs the 120 to be competitive in the mid-priced, eight-cylinder car market.

Packard was generally considered to be a luxury brand. The car was priced at around $1,000, and was designed to keep Packard in business during the Great Depression. The yearly family income averaged around $1,300, and so the 120 appealed mostly to upper middle-class families.

Photo: Canada Science and Technology Museum 1971.0436

Prime Minister William Lyon Mackenzie King greets King George VI and Queen Elizabeth in front of the Parliament Buildings.

1939

Two McLaughlin-Buicks are manufactured for the Royal Tour in 1939. They include several custom features including an intercom for the driver and passengers to communicate. One of the cars is re-used in 1986 for Prince Charles and Princess Diana's Canadian Tour.

Another McLaughlin-Buick was custom built in 1936 for King Edward VIII. He also ordered a McLaughlin-Buick Roadmaster for the woman he loved, Mrs. Wallis Simpson. That car is the one that he drove to the Prime Minister's residence to announce his abdication of the throne. He gave up the throne in order to marry Mrs. Simpson, a twice-married American socialite, causing a great scandal.

Photo: Canada Science and Technology Museum, CN Collection, Image CN0003780

In The News

Community Picnic at foot of Dry Canyon, Hesketh area, Alberta

1930-1939

The Great Depression puts many Canadians out of work and, by 1933, unemployment is at 30%.

Initially, the regions hit hardest by the Depression were those focused on industrial production, such as Southern Ontario. In the mid-1930s, a severe drought struck the Prairie provinces and decimated agricultural production. Many farmers relied on government support to survive, while others abandoned their farms entirely and moved to the cities. Quebec, because of its diverse industrial economy, experienced heavy unemployment but was less affected than the west. A sudden economic collapse was also less detrimental to the Maritime provinces, since the region had already been in economic decline since the 1920s.

Photo: 1933
Glenbow Archives, NC-6-13068a

The Hindenburg dirigible explodes over Lakehurst Naval Air Station in New Jersey prior to landing.

1937

The Hindenburg dirigible explodes over Lakehurst Naval Air Station in New Jersey prior to landing. It had just finished its first transatlantic flight between Europe and the United States.

Experts are still debating what caused the Hindenburg to burst into flames, and why it burned so quickly. The dirigible was inflated with hydrogen, and was powered by two Daimler-Benz engines. It took under 40 seconds for the Hindenburg to become completely engulfed in flames and crash. There were 36 passengers and 61 crew members on board. Thirteen passengers and 22 crew died, in addition to one crew member on the ground.

Photo: 1937
United States Navy

Entering Connaught Place in front of the National War Memorial. Ottawa, Ontario.

1939

King George VI and Queen Elizabeth unveil the National War Memorial in Ottawa.

The 1939 visit was the first visit of a reigning monarch to Canada. With the threat of another war looming in Europe, King George VI and Queen Elizabeth travelled from the East Coast to the West Coast by train, and in specially outfitted McLaughlin-Buick Royal Tour Cars. They were accompanied on the entire 29-day tour by Canadian Prime Minister William Lyon Mackenzie King.

Photo: 19 May 1939
Library and Archives Canada/PA-211009

Farewell party at the Polish Alliance Hall for enlisting soldiers, Calgary, Alberta

1939

On September 1, 1939, Britain and France declare war on Germany. One week later, Canada also declares war.

Approximately 1.1 million Canadians served in the Second World War. More than 40% of Canadian men between the ages of 18 and 45 volunteered for service and enlisted. Women also played an important role in the war—over 45,000 were in active service and supported the war through administrative and other roles. The first Canadian troops sailed for Britain on December 10, 1939. By the end of the war in 1945, more than 45,000 Canadians had been killed in battle.

Photo: 1940
Glenbow Archives, NA-3091-73

A war-time ad for Ford of Canada, August 1944

1939-1945

During the Second World War, Canada stops producing civilian products such as cars, appliances and clothing, and focuses on military production.

The declaration of war in 1939 caused Canadian industrial production to expand into new areas. By 1944, Canadians had produced 14,000 armoured personnel carriers, 4,000 aircraft, and 16,000 artillery pieces.

Illustration: 1944
Ford Motor Company of Canada Ltd
Canada Science and Technology Museum, deBondt Collection

Pop Culture

Pan American Airways crew, Flight Food Service

1930

Boeing introduces the first stewardesses on their flights.

In an effort to make air travel more comfortable, safe, and convenient, Boeing Air Transport introduces stewardesses on their flights, with one assigned to each flight. Stewardesses have to be registered nurses.

Photo: 1930
National Air and Space Museum, Smithsonian Institution, 2002-2948

Building automobile tires, Gutta Percha and Rubber Co. Ltd., Toronto

1930

The average cost of a new car is $600.

The average annual salary for 1930 was $1,000.00, meaning that a new car would have cost more than half of a person's annual income. A new tire, priced at $3.69, would have also cost more than a person's average daily income which was $2.50 a day.

Photo: 1930
National Film Board of Canada/Library and Archives Canada/ PA-176455

Amelia Earhart arrives in Ireland.

1937

Amelia Earhart disappears over the Pacific.

Amelia Earhart disappeared while attempting to be the first person to fly around the widest point of the world, the Equator—a challenging trip of some 29,000 miles (46,700 km).

Photo: 1937
National Air and Space Museum, Smithsonian Institution, 86-10744

Entrance to the Queen Elizabeth Way, Toronto, Ontario

1939

The Queen Elizabeth Way is inaugurated to commemorate the Queen's visit to Canada in 1939. It is Canada's first four-lane highway.

Today the QEW, or the Queen-E as it is known, is one of Ontario's busiest highways, with an average of 200,000 cars travelling on it each day.

Photo: Canada Science and Technology Museum, CN Collection, CN005903

Aller au contenu

Get Flash Player Ce site utilise Javascript et le plugin Adobe Flash Player. Le plugin est disponible a http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/

1930

Les effets de la Crise de 1929 se font sentir partout dans le monde. Le commerce international diminue de deux tiers. Au Canada, le secteur manufacturier et le secteur primaire, comme l'exploitation forestière, l'exploitation minière et l'agriculture, sont très durement touchés. Le chômage grimpe à 30 % au Canada et atteint même 33 % dans certains pays. Cette période voit des progrès dans de nouvelles technologies, comme l'invention de la radio FM, par Edward Armstrong, et le premier vol transatlantique, par la Pan Am. En 1930, la Galvin Manufacturing Corporation présente la première radio d'auto qui, dès 1950, sera un équipement livré en série. Les difficultés économiques favorisent la montée de partis de droite dans le monde entier. En Allemagne, le Parti national socialiste (Nazi), emmené par Adolf Hitler, prend le pouvoir, prélude à l'invasion de la Pologne en 1939. Les Canadiens fabriquent et achètent moins de voitures, et beaucoup de ceux qui en possèdent une n'ont pas les moyens d'acheter de l'essence. Cependant, environ 760 000 voitures sont vendues au Canada dans cette décennie.

Voitures

Le modèle spécial 1931 de McLaughlin-Buick était construit par Smith Body Works Ltd. à Toronto, avec un chassis de McLaughlin-Buick 1931

1931

La GMC Buick Custom 1931 était construite par Smith Body Works Ltd. à Toronto, avec un chassis de McLaughlin-Buick 1931.

Win Barron était un des premiers animateurs du jeu télévisé de la CBC « Front Page Challenge », diffusé de 1957 à 1995.

Photo : Musée des sciences et de la technologie du Canada 1977.0278

La Frontenac était considérée comme une des dernières voitures canadiennes.

1932

La production canadienne de la Frontenac est une telle réussite qu'elle devient indépendante de Durant Motors, sa société mère américaine. La nouvelle entreprise canadienne qui naît en 1931 s'appelle Dominion Motors Ltd.

Pour rendre les voitures plus canadiennes aux yeux du public, les fabricants leur donnent parfois le nom de personnages historiques canadiens. La Frontenac doit ainsi son nom au comte de Frontenac, ancien gouverneur de la Nouvelle-France (1672-1682 et 1689-1698). Il en va de même de la Ford Frontenac 1960.

Photo : Musée des sciences et de la technologie du Canada, Collection de Bondt

Publicité pour la Chrysler Airflow, Canadian Home Journal

1934

La ligne épurée de la Chrysler Airflow marque un changement radical dans la conception automobile.

À l'époque des voitures en forme de boite, elle attire l'attention avec ses formes arrondies qui la rende plus aérodynamique. La mise en marché audacieuse de l'Airflow occasionne des problèmes financiers pour Chrysler car le public tarde à adopter son style avant-gardiste. Malgré tout, les voitures aux lignes fluides et arrondies deviendront très populaires durant les prochaines décennies.

Photo : 1934
Musée des sciences et de la technologie du Canada, Collection deBondt

La La Salle de la collection du Musée des sciences et de la technologie du Canada

1936

La La Salle est lancée aux États-Unis en 1927 comme modèle de bas de gamme de Cadillac. Il s'agit de la première automobile conçue par un styliste au lieu d'un ingénieur ou d'un mécanicien.

La La Salle de la collection du Musée des sciences et de la technologie du Canada fait partie des quelques centaines d'exemplaires produits par an à Oshawa entre 1927 et 1936, dernière année de production canadienne. La production américaine s'est poursuivie jusqu'en 1940.

Photo : Musée des sciences et de la technologie du Canada 2000.0087

La série 120 de Packard offrait de nouvelles technologies et un nouveau design qui ont influencé les modèles ultérieurs de la marque.

1936

En 1936, Packard conçoit la 120 qui doit être compétitive sur le marché des voitures à huit cylindres de prix intermédiaire.

Packard était généralement considérée comme une marque de luxe. La voiture, qui se vendait autour de 1 000 $, devait permettre à Packard de survivre à la Crise de 1929. Le revenu familial moyen avoisinait les 1 300 $ par an, ce qui veut dire que la 120 intéressait surtout les familles de la classe moyenne supérieure.

Photo : Musée des sciences et de la technologie du Canada 1971.0436

Le premier ministre William Lyon Mackenzie King accueille le roi George VI et la reine Elizabeth devant les édifices du Parlement.

1939

Deux McLaughlin-Buick sont fabriquées pour la visite royale de 1939. Elles sont équipées de plusieurs dispositifs spéciaux, comme un interphone pour communiquer avec le chauffeur. Une des voitures est de nouveau utilisée en 1986, lors de la visite au Canada du prince Charles et de la princesse Diana.

Une autre McLaughlin-Buick est produite en 1936 pour le roi Édouard VIII, qui passe aussi commande d'un McLaughlin-Buick Roadmaster pour la femme qu'il aime, Mme Wallis Simpson. C'est à bord de cette voiture qu'il se rend à la résidence du premier ministre pour annoncer qu'il abdique et renonce au trône pour épouser Mme Simpson, mondaine américaine deux fois divorcée, ce qui provoque un véritable scandale.

Photo : Musée des sciences et de la technologie du Canada, Collection CN, Image CN0003780

Dans l'actualité

Manifestation d'ouvriers contre le chômage dans l'Ouest du Canada

1930-1939

Avec la Crise de 1929, beaucoup de Canadiens perdent leur emploi et, en 1933, le taux de chômage est de 30 %.

Au début, les régions les plus durement touchées par la crise sont les régions industrielles, comme le Sud de l'Ontario. Au milieu des années 1930, une grave sécheresse frappe les provinces des Prairies et réduit à néant la production agricole. La survie de bien des agriculteurs dépend de l'État, tandis que d'autres abandonnent complètement leurs exploitations pour s'installer dans les villes. En raison de son économie industrielle diverse, le Québec connaît un lourd chômage, mais il est moins touché que l'Ouest. Par ailleurs, l'effondrement économique soudain s'est moins ressenti dans les provinces maritimes, où le déclin économique s'était déjà amorcé dans les années 1920.

Photo : 1933
Archives Glenbow, NC-6-13068a

Le Hindenburg explose au-dessus de la base aéronavale de Lakehurst, dans le New Jersey, alors qu'il amorçait son atterrissage

1937

Le Hindenburg explose au-dessus de la base aéronavale de Lakehurst, dans le New Jersey, alors qu'il amorçait son atterrissage. Le dirigeable terminait tout juste son premier vol transatlantique Europe-États-Unis.

Les spécialistes ne s'entendent toujours pas sur les causes de l'explosion de l'Hindenburg et sur les raisons pour lesquelles il a brûlé aussi vite. Le dirigeable était gonflé à l'hydrogène et équipé de deux moteurs Daimler-Benz. En moins de 40 secondes, il est la proie des flammes et s'écrase. Il y avait 36 passagers et 61 membres d'équipage à bord. Treize passagers et 22 membres d'équipage meurent, en plus d'un membre d'équipage au sol.

Photo : 1937
United States Navy

Procession royale entrant sur la place Connaught devant le Monument aux Morts à  Ottawa, en Ontario

1939

Le roi George VI et la reine Elizabeth dévoilent le Monument aux Morts à Ottawa.

La visite de 1939 est la première au Canada d'un monarque régnant. Avec la menace d'une autre guerre qui plane sur l'Europe, le roi George VI et la reine Elizabeth traversent le pays d'est en ouest en train, à bord de voitures McLaughlin-Buick spécialement aménagées pour la visite royale. Ils sont accompagnés pendant les 29 jours de leur voyage par le premier ministre, William Lyon Mackenzie King.

Photo : 19 mai 1939
Avec l'aimable autorisation de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada/PA-211009

Fête d'adieu pour les soldats qui s'engagent, au Polish Alliance Hall de Calgary, en Alberta

1939

Le 1er septembre 1939, la Grande-Bretagne et la France déclarent la guerre à l'Allemagne, et sont suivies une semaine plus tard par le Canada.

Environ 1,1 million de Canadiens servent leur pays pendant la Deuxième Guerre mondiale. Plus de 40 % des Canadiens âgés de 18 à 45 ans s'engagent pour aller se battre. Les femmes jouent elles aussi un rôle important dans la guerre – plus de 45 000 sont en service actif et soutiennent l'effort de guerre dans des tâches administratives et autres. Les premières troupes canadiennes embarquent pour la Grande-Bretagne le 10 décembre 1939. À la fin de la guerre, en 1945, plus de 45 000 Canadiens ont été tués au combat.

Photo : 1940
Archives Glenbow, NA-3091-73

Publicité de l'époque de la guerre pour Ford du Canada, en août 1944.

1939-1945

Pendant la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, le Canada arrête de produire des articles civils, comme les voitures, les appareils ménagers et les vêtements, et se concentre sur la production militaire.

Avec la déclaration de guerre de 1939, la production industrielle canadienne se diversifie. En 1944, les Canadiens avaient produit 14 000 transports de troupes blindés, 4 000 aéronefs et 16 000 pièces d'artillerie.

Illustration : 1944
Ford du Canada Limitée
Musée des sciences et de la technologie du Canada, Collection deBondt

Culture pop

Équipage du service alimentaire de la Pan American Airways

1930

Les premières hôtesses de l'air font leur apparition sur des vols de Boeing.

Par souci de confort, de sécurité et de commodité, Boeing Air Transport décide qu'il y aura une hôtesse à bord de chacun de ses vols. Les hôtesses doivent être infirmières diplômées.

Photo : 1930
National Air and Space Museum, Smithsonian Institution, 2002-2948

Fabrication de pneus d'automobile, Gutta Percha and Rubber Co. Ltd., Toronto

1930

Une voiture neuve coûte en moyenne 600 $.

Par souci de confort, de sécurité et de commodité, Boeing Air Transport décide qu'il y aura une hôtesse à bord de chacun de ses vols. Les hôtesses doivent être infirmières diplômées.

Photo : 1930
Office national du film du Canada/Bibliothèque et Archives Canada/ PA-176455

Arrivée d'Amelia Earhart en Irlande

1937

Amelia Earhart disparaît au-dessus du Pacifique.

Amelia Earhart disparaît alors qu'elle tente de faire le tour du monde en passant par l'équateur, difficile périple long de quelque 29 000 miles (46 700 km) qui aurait aussi été une première.

Photo : 1937
National Air and Space Museum, Smithsonian Institution, 86-10744

Entrée du Queen Elizabeth Way à Toronto (Ontario)

1939

Inauguration du Queen Elizabeth Way pour commémorer la visite officielle de la reine au Canada en 1939. Il s'agit de la première route à quatre voies du Canada.

Aujourd'hui, le QEW, ou le Queen-E, comme on l'appelle, est une des routes les plus fréquentées de l'Ontario : en moyenne, 200 000 véhicules l'empruntent chaque jour.

Photo : Musée des sciences et de la technologie du Canada, Collection CN, CN005903