Skip To Content

Get Flash PlayerThis site uses Javascript and the Adobe Flash Player plugin. The plugin is available at http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/

1900

The early 20th century was a period of rapid change as technological advances were felt in industry and in the home. The Brownie camera and the phonograph appeared in the early 1900s, along with the first feature film. The first plastic for domestic use – Bakelite – was introduced in 1909 and used in casings and housings for small appliances, as well as dishware. Ford began the mass production of the Model T in 1909 and, soon after, it was available for purchase by the middle classes. Developments in electrical generation and distribution meant that Canadians could now have electricity. In this 10-year period, the world saw a series of remarkable firsts – the first successful powered flight, the beginning of construction on the Panama Canal, commercial colour photography, and the first windshield wipers.

Cars

Mr. and Mrs. Crocker of Stratford, Ontario, seated in their Le Roy

1903

The 1903 Le Roy is Canada's first gasoline-powered car built in quantities for sale.

The Canadian-made Le Roy was actually a close copy of the popular American Oldsmobile—note the curved dash, which was a characteristic of the Oldsmobile.

Photo: 1902
Beacon Herald, Stratford, Ontario

The Chatham, built by the Chatham Motor Car Co. Ltd., Chatham, Ontario

1906

The Chatham Motor Company is formed.

The solid and reliable Chatham automobile was built using an imported engine, and a graceful wooden body made by William Gray and Sons Ltd . Production at Chatham ceased in 1909 and the Grays later went on to found Gray-Dort Motors Ltd. and to manufacture cars with as many local materials and parts as possible.

Photo: ca. 1906
Archives of Ontario

The Comet, Comet Motor Company, Montreal, Quebec

1907

Former bicycle racer, Lou D. Robertson, founds the Comet Motor Company in Montreal, QC.

The Comet automobile was described as having a 'national' style, even though it was built mostly from European parts. King George V rode in a Comet during his 1908 visit to Quebec.

Photo: Canada Science and Technology Museum 1975.0209

In The News

Archival photograph of the Ford Motor Company Plant in Walkerville, Ontarioa

1904

Henry Ford establishes Ford of Canada in Walkerville, Ontario in 1904. The plant begins to produce Model Ts in 1908.

Ford of Canada was not a branch plant of the American company – it was a distinct and independent operation. The company relied on American engineering and design, but retained control over production, pricing, sales, and trade.

Photo: ca. 1909
Ford Motor Company Ltd. Archives

Canada, 1905

1905

Alberta and Saskatchewan join Confederation.

Between 1897 and 1911, two million people emigrated to the Canadian West. Enticed by the offer of free farmland, they created some 30,000 farms, and most grew wheat in an effort to meet increasing worldwide demand. Marquis wheat, with its short growing season, expanded the areas where wheat could be cultivated. The wheat economy fuelled the population growth that lead to the creation of Alberta and Saskatchewan.

Illustration: Atlas of Canada

The R.S. McLaughlin 100th birthday McLaughlin-Buick Rally, June 19th, 1971. Col. R.S. McLaughlin at Wheel of 1908 Model 'F'

1907

Sam McLaughlin founds the McLaughlin Motor Car Company in Oshawa, Ontario.

In 1908, when production was about to begin on the McLaughlin, the engineer working on it became seriously ill. Sam McLaughlin sent a telegram to his friend Billy Durant at Buick in the United States asking to borrow an engineer. The next day, Durant himself arrived in Oshawa with two Buick executives. From then on, McLaughlin produced cars using Buick engines.

Photo: 1971
Parkwood Estate and Heritage Garden

Frank Tuplin and family, seated in automobile outside their Summerside, PEI, home

1908

Members of the legislature in Charlottetown vote unanimously to ban all automobiles from Prince Edward Island.

Many islanders found automobiles too noisy and smoky, but ultimately the benefits of the new "automobile tourism" could not be ignored. The ban was partially lifted in 1913, allowing motoring on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays. In 1918, the act was revoked altogether.

Photo: 1913
Public Archives and Records Office of PEI

Pop Culture

Original rubber double-sided plate issued between August 1906 and August 1908

1903

Ontario is the first province to license motor vehicles.

The Ontario government issued the earliest licenses to protect the largely non-motoring public from the "dangers" of the automobile, which could move faster than the more common horse drawn traffic The first licenses were made of leather, with house numbers attached. The government issued only 713 of these before replacing them with rubber plates in 1906.

Photo: 1908
City of Toronto, Larry Becker Collection [2000.5.4611]

The Ouimetoscope opens its doors in Montreal, Quebec.

1906

The Ouimetoscope, Canada's first theatre dedicated exclusively to moving pictures, opens its doors in Montreal, Quebec.

The Ouimetoscope was named for its owner, Léo-Ernest Ouimet, who correctly anticipated the public's growing fascination with moving pictures. The theatre presented films from Canada and the United States, including some of Ouimet's own short, documentary-style films.

Photo: 1906
Collection Cinémathèque québécoise.

The first gasoline service station in Canada, Vancouver, British Columbia

1907

Canada's first gas station opens in Vancouver, British Columbia.

Before the emergence of specialized gas stations, motorists would have to get their "fill-ups" at oil distribution terminals located on the outskirts of towns and cities. As demand increased, curb-side stations became more common. Oil companies, wanting to attract more customers, recognized the importance of creating a unique brand and style for their stations.

Photo: 1907
Glenbow Archives, IP-12-1-1

The Silver Dart flying above the frozen lake

1909

The Silver Dart flies nearly 800 metres in Baddeck, Nova Scotia, marking Canada's first powered flight.

The Silver Dart's flight took place on the ice of Baddeck Bay, Nova Scotia. It rose nine metres in the air, and flew at 65 km an hour, making Canadian aviation history.

Photo: Feb. 24, 1909
Parks Canada/ Alexander Graham Bell National Historic Site of Canada

Aller au contenu

Get Flash Player Ce site utilise Javascript et le plugin Adobe Flash Player. Le plugin est disponible a http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/

1900

Les changements abondent au début du xxe siècle, les progrès technologiques se ressentant tant dans l'industrie que dans les foyers. L'appareil photo Brownie et le phonographe font leur apparition au début des années 1900, tout comme le premier long métrage. Le premier plastique à usage domestique – la Bakélite –, lancé en 1909, est utilisé dans les revêtements et les boîtiers de petits appareils ménagers, ainsi que dans la vaisselle. En 1909, Ford commence à produire en série le Modèle T qui, peu après, sera à la portée des classes moyennes. Grâce à l'évolution de la production de l'énergie électrique et de sa distribution, les Canadiens ont maintenant de l'électricité. Au cours de la première décennie, le monde connaît une série de premières remarquables – le premier vol propulsé réussi, le début de la construction du canal de Panama, la photographie couleur commerciale et les premiers essuie-glaces.

Voitures

M. et Mme Crocker de Stratford, en Ontario, assis dans leur Le Roy

1903

La Le Roy 1903 est la première voiture à essence à être produite en série pour le marché canadien.

En fait, la Le Roy de fabrication canadienne ressemblait beaucoup à la populaire Oldsmobile américaine – remarquez l'avant aux lignes incurvées, caractéristique de l'Oldsmobile.

Photo : vers 1902
Beacon Herald, Stratford (Ontario)

La Chatham, construite par la Chatham Motor Car Co. Ltd., Chatham, en Ontario

1906

Création de la Chatham Motor Company

La Chatham, automobile solide et fiable, était équipée d'un moteur importé et son élégante carrosserie en bois était fabriquée par William Gray and Sons Ltd. Sa production a cessé en 1909, et la famille Gray a ensuite fondé la Gray-Dort Motors Ltd. et fabriqué des voitures avec autant de matériaux et de pièces locales que possible.

Photo : vers 1906
Archives de l'Ontario

La Comet, Comet Motor Company, Montréal (Québec)

1907

L'ancien coureur cycliste Lou D. Robertson fonde la Comet Motor Company, à Montréal, au Québec.

On disait de la Comet qu'elle avait un style « national », même si elle était fabriquée principalement avec des pièces européennes. Le roi George V s'est déplacé en Comet au cours de sa visite officielle au Québec, en 1908.

Photo : Musée des sciences et de la technologie du Canada 1975.0209

Dans l'actualité

Photographie d'archives de l'usine de la Ford Motor Company à Walkerville, en Ontario

1904

Henry Ford crée Ford of Canada et établit une usine à Walkerville, en Ontario. L'usine commence à produire le Modèle T dès 1908.

Ford of Canada n'était pas une succursale de la société américaine, mais une entreprise distincte et indépendante. Elle dépendait des ingénieurs et des concepteurs américains, mais elle avait le contrôle de la production, des prix, des ventes et du commerce.

Photo : vers 1909
Archives de la Ford Motor Company Ltd.

Canada, 1905

1905

Entrée de l'Alberta et de la Saskatchewan dans la fédération.

Entre 1897 et 1911, deux millions de personnes émigrent dans l'Ouest du Canada. Attirées par l'offre de terres agricoles gratuites, elles créent quelque 30 000 exploitations agricoles, la plupart produisant du blé pour répondre à la demande mondiale croissante. Le blé Marquis, qui poussait rapidement, a permis d'étendre la culture du blé. L'économie du blé a alimenté la croissance démographique et conduit à la création de l'Alberta et de la Saskatchewan.

Illustration : Atlas du Canada

Le rallye McLaughlin-Buick du centième anniversaire de R.S. McLaughlin, le 19 juin 1971. Le col. R.S. McLaughlin au volant du modèle F de 1908

1907

Sam McLaughlin fonde la McLaughlin Motor Car Company à Oshawa, en Ontario.

En 1908, alors que la production de la McLaughlin était sur le point de commencer, l'ingénieur affecté à ce travail tombe gravement malade. Sam McLaughlin envoie un télégramme à son ami Billy Durant, chez Buick, aux États-Unis, pour lui demander de lui prêter un ingénieur. Le lendemain, Billy Durant lui-même arrive à Oshawa avec deux cadres de chez Buick. À la suite de cette rencontre, McLaughlin produit des voitures équipées de moteurs Buick.

Photo : 1971
Parkwood Estate and Heritage Garden

Frank Tuplin et sa famille assis dans une automobile devant leur maison de Summerside (Î.-P.-É.)

1908

Les députés de l'Assemblée législative de Charlottetown votent à l'unanimité l'interdiction de toute automobile sur l'île du Prince-Édouard.

Beaucoup d'habitants de l'île trouvaient que les automobiles étaient trop bruyantes et qu'elles dégageaient trop de gaz d'échappement, mais en fin de compte, il est devenu impossible de ne pas reconnaître les avantages du nouveau « tourisme automobile ». L'interdiction a été levée partiellement en 1913, autrement dit, les automobiles pouvaient circuler les lundis, mercredis et jeudis. En 1918, la loi est complètement abrogée.

Photo : 1913
Public Archives and Records Office of PEI

Culture pop

Plaque originale à double face en caoutchouc délivrée entre août 1906 et août 1908

1903

L'Ontario est la première province à immatriculer les véhicules automobiles.

Le gouvernement de l'Ontario délivre les toutes premières plaques d'immatriculation, afin de protéger une population dans une large mesure non motorisée contre les « dangers » de l'automobile, qui pouvait se déplacer plus vite que les voitures à cheval plus courantes. Les premières plaques étaient en cuir et les numéros des maisons y figuraient. Le gouvernement n'a délivré que 713 de ces plaques avant de les remplacer par des plaques en caoutchouc, en 1906.

Photo : 1908
Ville de Toronto, Collection Larry Becker [2000.5.4611]

Le Ouimetoscope ouvre ses portes à Montréal, au Québec.

1906

Le Ouimetoscope, premier théâtre canadien réservé exclusivement à la projection de films, ouvre ses portes à Montréal, au Québec.

Le Ouimetoscope doit son nom à son propriétaire, Léo-Ernest Ouimet, qui a pressenti à raison la fascination croissante du public pour le cinéma. Le théâtre présentait des films canadiens et américains, y compris des courts métrages documentaires réalisés par Léo-Ernest Ouimet lui-même.

Photo : 1906
Collection Cinémathèque québécoise.

La première station-service canadienne, à Vancouver, en Colombie-Britannique

1907

La première station-service du Canada ouvre à Vancouver, en Colombie-Britannique.

Avant l'apparition des stations-service spécialisées, les automobilistes devaient faire le plein à des terminaux de distribution de produits pétroliers situés à la périphérie des villes. Avec l'accroissement de la demande, les postes à essence sont devenus plus courants au bord des routes. Les sociétés pétrolières, voulant attirer plus de clients, comprennent qu'il était important de créer une marque et un style uniques pour leurs stations.

Photo : 1907
Archives Glenbow, IP-12-1-1

Le Silver Dart survolant les eaux gelées du lac.

1909

Le Silver Dart vole sur près de 800 mètres, à Baddeck, en Nouvelle-Écosse, marquant le premier vol propulsé du Canada.

Le Silver Dart a survolé les glaces de la baie de Baddeck, en Nouvelle-Écosse. L'avion s'est élevé à neuf mètres dans les airs et a volé à 65 km à l'heure, écrivant ainsi une page de l'histoire de l'aviation canadienne.

Photo : 24 février 1909
Parcs Canada/ Lieu historique national du Canada Alexander-Graham-Bell