Skip To Content
Skip Flash presentation

Get Flash PlayerThis site uses Javascript and the Adobe Flash Player plugin. The plugin is available at

Taylor Steam Buggy

Model Year: 1867

Location of Manufacture: Stanstead, Quebec

Download a transcript of this video
Taylor Steam Buggy

Henry Seth Taylor loved to build things. Born in Stanstead in 1833, he loved to experiment with different machines. In his lifetime, he is known to have created many inventions, including the very first sofa-bed, and a precursor to the talking machine. However, Mr. Taylor’s main claim to fame is to have built the first steam car in Canada, which he unveiled at the Stanstead Exhibition of 1867. Other self-propelled automobiles already existed at the time Mr. Taylor displayed his model for public view.

In France, for instance, Joseph Cugnot had built a rather heavy three-wheeled vehicle in 1789, which carried a large steam boiler at its front, and could attain a maximum speed of 5 km\h. More recently, in the 1860’s, American Sylvester Roper had built many four wheeled horseless carriages. One day, Mr. Taylor and his automobile were involved in what could be described as the very first car accident in Canadian history. As he was making his way down a particularly steep hill, his vehicle started to take on speed and began swerving uncontrollably, crashing at the bottom of the hill. Thankfully, Mr. Taylor, who hadn’t thought of installing breaks on the car, jumped out of it just before the crash. The car was a total loss. Frustrated, the inventor abandoned the idea, and turned his efforts to building a steam yacht.

After recovering the steam boiler for his new yacht, Mr. Taylor stored his car away in the barn. Upon the death of Henry Seth Taylor, in 1887, the invention had long been forgotten. Over one hundred years later, the car was discovered and brought to the United States. Once restored and equipped with proper brakes, it was returned to Canada, where it is now owned by the Canadian Museum of Science and Technology.

TV Rogers, a Division of Rogers Cable Communications Inc.

Get Flash PlayerThis video requires Javascript and the Adobe Flash Player plugin. The plugin is available at

Automobile 2010
Television program produced by TV Rogers

Download the video (21.4 mb MP4)

Aller au contenu
frise_chronologique-timeline
Passer présentation Flash

Get Flash Player Ce site utilise Javascript et le plugin Adobe Flash Player. Le plugin est disponible a http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/

Voiture à vapeur Taylor

Année modèle : 1867

Lieu de fabrication : Stanstead (Québec)

Télécharger la transcription de cette vidéo.
Voiture à vapeur Taylor

Henry Seth Taylor était un bricoleur né. Né à Stanstead en 1833, il adorait faire des expériences avec des machines. Au cours de sa vie, on dit qu’il a inventé plusieurs objets dont le premier divan-lit, et un ancêtre d’une machine parlante. Cependant, Monsieur Taylor est surtout connu pour avoir construit la première automobile à vapeur au Canada, qu’il dévoila à l’exposition de Stanstead en 1867. Des voitures autopropulsées existaient depuis des années lorsque Monsieur Taylor présenta son propre modèle au public.

En France, par exemple, en 1789, Joseph Cugnot avait construit un lourd véhicule à trois roues comportant une chaudière à l’avant, et qui atteignit une vitesse maximale de 5 km/h. Plus récemment, dans les années 1860, l’américain Sylvester Roper avait construit plusieurs véhicules à quatre roues sans chevaux. Or un jour, lors de son passage dans le village, Monsieur Taylor et son véhicule furent impliqués dans ce qui pourrait être décrit comme le premier accident routier dans l’histoire canadienne. Alors qu’il descendait une côte abrupte, le véhicule commença à prendre de la vitesse, zigzagua hors de contrôle, et s’écrasa dans le bas de la côte. Heureusement Monsieur Taylor, qui avait négligé d’installer des freins, a pu sauter à temps hors du véhicule. Ce fut une perte totale. Frustré, l’inventeur abandonna cette voie, et porta plutôt son attention sur la construction d’un yacht à vapeur.

Après avoir récupéré la chaudière pour son nouveau yacht, Monsieur Taylor mit son véhicule au rencard derrière sa grange. Au décès de monsieur Henry Seth Taylor, en 1887, l’invention avait déjà été oubliée de tous depuis longtemps. Plus d’un siècle plus tard, le véhicule fut découvert et amené aux États-Unis. Restauré et cette fois muni de freins, il fut ramené au Canada où il est maintenant propriété du Musée des Sciences et Technologie du Canada.

TV Rogers, une division de Rogers Cable Communications Inc.

Get Flash Player Cette video utilise Javascript et le plugin Adobe Flash Player. Le plugin est disponible a http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/

Automobile 2010
Émission de télévision produite par TV Rogers
2010

Télécharger la vidéo (21.4 Mo MP4)