Skip To Content
Skip Flash presentation

Get Flash PlayerThis site uses Javascript and the Adobe Flash Player plugin. The plugin is available at

Russell 14-28

Model Year: 1914

Location of Manufacture: Toronto, Ontario

By the opening years of the 20th century, the popularity of the bicycle was fading and, concurrently, interest in motorized transportation was on the rise. In 1903, the Canada Cycle and Motor Company (CCM) of Toronto purchased the assets of a defunct automobile producer, Canadian Motors Limited. A new automobile division was established under the leadership of then general manager, Tommy Russell – the Russell Motor Car Co. From 1903 to 1916, the company produced a range of models with increasingly large engine sizes. In 1911, the Russell Motor Car Co. was so successful, it was incorporated as a entity separate from CCM.

The Russells had a solid reputation as well-built, reliable cars, and sales offices were opened in England, Australia and New Zealand. However, success in the moderately-priced car market was not enough for Russell. With the arrival in Canada of the almost silent Knight sleeve-valve engine, Russell saw an opportunity to expand into the luxury car market. Russell began producing vehicles with a significantly quieter engine, embellished with elegant brass fittings and rich hardwood detailing.

The Russell Motor Car Co. was dealt two devastating blows. The first came in 1913, when problems with the sleeve-valve engine resulted in ongoing mechanical difficulties. In 1914, with the start of World War I in Europe, industrial resources were diverted to the war effort, leaving non-military factories short of materials. Russell ceased producing cars in 1916 and focussed instead on supplying munitions for the military, and on producing car parts in the post-war period.

Aller au contenu
frise_chronologique-timeline
Passer présentation Flash

Get Flash Player Ce site utilise Javascript et le plugin Adobe Flash Player. Le plugin est disponible a http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/

Russell 14-28

Année modèle : 1914

Lieu de fabrication : Toronto (Ontario)

Dans les premières années du XXe siècle, la popularité de la bicyclette s’essouffle tandis que celle du transport motorisé ne cesse de croître. En 1903, la Canada Cycle and Motor Company (CCM) de Toronto achète les biens d’un constructeur automobile en faillite, la Canadian Motors Limited. Une nouvelle division automobile – la Russell Motor Car Co – est créée sous l’impulsion de Tommy Russell, à l’époque directeur général de la CCM. De 1903 à 1916, l’entreprise produit une série de modèles dotés de moteurs de plus en plus gros. La Russell Motor Car Co. est si prospère qu’en 1911 elle est constituée en société distincte de la CCM.

Les Russell ont une solide réputation de voitures bien construites et fiables. Des bureaux de vente sont ouverts en Angleterre, en Australie et en Nouvelle-Zélande. Cependant, le succès remporté sur le marché de l’automobile à prix abordable ne suffit pas à Russell. Celui-ci voit dans l’arrivée au Canada du presque silencieux moteur Knight sans soupapes une occasion de s’implanter sur le marché de la voiture de luxe. Il lance la production de véhicules ayant un moteur beaucoup plus silencieux, dotés d’élégantes garnitures en cuivre et d’ornements en bois finement travaillés.

La Russell Motor Car Co. subit deux chocs dévastateurs. Le premier, en 1913, concerne le moteur sans soupapes qui provoque des défaillances mécaniques répétées. Le deuxième, en 1914, est lié au début de la Première Guerre mondiale en Europe, qui impose le transfert des ressources industrielles vers l’effort de guerre. Les usines à vocation non militaire subissent une pénurie de matériaux. Russell arrête la production de voitures en 1916 et s’oriente vers la fourniture de munitions pour l’armée, puis la fabrication de pièces de voiture dans l’après-guerre.