Skip To Content
frise_chronologique-timeline
Skip Flash presentation

Get Flash PlayerThis site uses Javascript and the Adobe Flash Player plugin. The plugin is available at http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/

McLaughlin-Buick 28-496

Model Year: 1928 (model year) built in 1927

Location of Manufacture: Oshawa, Ontario

In 1927, HRH Edward, Prince of Wales, and his brother Prince George, toured Canada in this car as part of this country’s diamond jubilee celebrations.

General Motors of Canada was commissioned to build a car, under the McLaughlin-Buick brand, which would carry the Royal Party. This is one of two cars built for use during that tour. Designed by Samuel McLaughlin himself, the four-door convertible could accommodate up to seven passengers. It was designed and built entirely in Canada, save for the engine which came from the Buick plant in Flint, Michigan. Prince Edward was so impressed with the car, he ordered a McLaughlin-Buick for his limousine when he became King Edward VIII in 1936.

Samuel McLaughlin began his career as an upholsterer in his father’s factory, the McLaughlin Carriage Works. This was the largest carriage factory in the British Empire. By 1907, the lure of automobile had captured his imagination and he founded the McLaughlin Motor Car Co. A joint venture with the Buick Motor Company of Detroit resulted in the production of the McLaughlin-Buick Model F – one of the first motor cars actually assembled in Canada.

McLaughlin sold his company to General Motors in 1918 and then became the first president of General Motors of Canada. He retained this position until 1945 and was active as company chairperson well into the 1960s.

Aller au contenu
frise_chronologique-timeline
Passer présentation Flash

Get Flash Player Ce site utilise Javascript et le plugin Adobe Flash Player. Le plugin est disponible a http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/

McLaughlin-Buick 28-496

Année modèle : 1928 (année modèle) fabriquée en 1927

Lieu de fabrication : Oshawa (Ontario)

General Motors du Canada Limitée est chargée de construire une voiture, sous la marque McLaughlin-Buick, pour transporter la suite royale. Voici l’une des deux voitures réalisées pour cette visite. Conçue par Samuel McLaughlin lui-même, cette décapotable quatre portes peut accueillir jusqu’à sept passagers. Elle a été entièrement conçue et fabriquée au Canada, à l’exception du moteur qui vient de l’usine Buick de Flint (Michigan). Le prince Édouard est si impressionné par la McLaughlin-Buick qu’il en commande une pour lui servir de limousine quand il devient roi sous le nom d’Édouard VIII en 1936.

Samuel McLaughlin commence sa carrière en tant que tapissier dans l’usine de son père, la McLaughlin Carriage Works, la plus grande fabrique de calèches de l’Empire britannique. En 1907, les charmes de l’automobile captivent son imagination et il fonde la McLaughlin Motor Car Co. Une coentreprise avec la Buick Motor Company de Détroit débouche sur la production du Modèle F de la McLaughlin-Buick – l’une des premières voitures motorisées réellement assemblées au Canada.

McLaughlin vend son entreprise à General Motors en 1918 et devient le premier président de General Motors du Canada. Il conserve ce poste jusqu’en 1945, et reste actif en tant que président du conseil d’administration bien au-delà du milieu des années 1960.