Skip To Content
frise_chronologique-timeline
Skip Flash presentation

Get Flash PlayerThis site uses Javascript and the Adobe Flash Player plugin. The plugin is available at http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/

LeRoy

Model Year: 1903

Location of Manufacture: Berlin (Kitchener), Ontario

Download a transcript of this video
LeRoy

Automobile 2010
Television program produced by TV Rogers 2010

The LeRoy was the first commercially produced gasoline automobile to have been built in Canada. The car was produced from 1899 to 1907 by the Good brothers of Berlin, which later became the city of Kitchener, Ontario. Propelled by a small, one cylinder en- gine designed by the Ramson E.Olds company in Michigan, which was later to become the cradle of North Americaʼs automobile industry, the LeRoy was well poised to take over from the horse drawn carriages of the day.

The engine was located under the seat. The body was fairly basic, with the roof hanging high above and no covering in front. The presence of rubber tires, a steering lever and dash board set it apart from the old buggies of the day.

Over that 8-year period, only 32 of these cars were built. As far as we know, only two of these cars still exist in Canada. One of them can be found at the Doon Pioneer Village in Kitchener, and the other is at the Museum of Science and Technology in Ottawa. Its original owner, Mr. Gordon Cavanaugh, was one of the most important car collectors in Canada. When he acquired this famous automobile, Mr.Cavanaugh knew nothing of its origins and history. The item was part of the personal collection of H.G. OʼConnell, a col- lector who owned close to one hundred antique cars. When Mr.Cavanaugh bought the car at an auction in 1966, he thought he had purchased an early 20th century Oldsmo- bile.

However, during a mechanical inspection while restoring the car, he realised this was no Oldsmobile. It only had one forward gear, assisted by a planetary transmission, and had no braking system. The only way to stop it was to press on the reverse pedal. As he could find no documentation on this type of mechanics, he began an investigation to try and identify this mystery car.

TV Rogers, a Division of Rogers Cable Communications Inc.

Get Flash PlayerThis video requires Javascript and the Adobe Flash Player plugin. The plugin is available at http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/

Automobile 2010
Television program produced by TV Rogers
2010

Download the video (19.5 mb MP4)

Aller au contenu
frise_chronologique-timeline
Passer présentation Flash

Get Flash Player Ce site utilise Javascript et le plugin Adobe Flash Player. Le plugin est disponible a http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/

LeRoy

Année modèle : 1903

Lieu de fabrication : Berlin (Kitchener, Ontario)

Télécharger la transcription de cette vidéo.
LeRoy

Automobile 2010
Émission de télévision produite par TV Rogers 2010

La première automobile à essence fabriquée au Canada et produite commercialement fut la LeRoy. La voiture fut construite de 1899 à 1907 par les Good brothers de Berlin, devenue depuis la ville de Kitchener en Ontario. Propulsée par un petit moteur un cylin- dre conçu par la Ramson E. Olds du Michigan, devenu le berceau de lʼindustrie auto- mobile nord-américaine, la Le Roy succédait aux charrettes de lʼépoque.

Le moteur était placé sous la banquette. Lʼhabitacle plutôt rudimentaire était placé haut, et était complètement découvert dans sa partie avant. La présence de pneumatiques, dʼun garde boue, dʼun levier de direction et dʼun tableau de bord la distingait des bug- gies du temps.

Seulement 32 voitures ont été construites pendant cette période de 8 ans. Il ne semble en exister que 2 exemplaires en condition au Canada. Une au Doon Pioneer Village à Kitchener, et lʼautre au Musée des Sciences et Technologie dʼOttawa. Son propriétaire initial, Monsieur Gordon Cavanaugh était lʼun des plus importants collectioneur de voi- tures au Canada. Lors de lʼacquisition de la fameuse voiture, monsieur Cavanaugh nʼa- vait aucune idée de sa provenance et de son histoire. La pièce provenait de la collec- tion personnelle de H.G. OʼConnell, un collectioneur qui possédait près de 100 automo- biles dʼépoque. Monsieur Cavanaugh en fit lʼacquisition lors dʼun encan en 1966. Il acheta la voiture tout en pensant quʼil sʼagissait dʼune Oldsmobile du début du siècle dernier.

Cʼest lors de lʼinspection de sa mécanique pendant sa restauration quʼil se rendit compte que ce nʼétait pas une Oldsmobile. Elle nʼavait quʼune seule vitesse avant, as- sistée dʼune transmission planétaire, et nʼavait aucun système de freinage. La seule façon de lʼarrêter était de presser la pédale de la marche arrière. Devant lʼabsence de toute documentation sur ce type de mécanique, il débuta son enquête afin dʼidentifier la voiture.

TV Rogers, une division de Rogers Cable Communications Inc.

Get Flash Player Cette video utilise Javascript et le plugin Adobe Flash Player. Le plugin est disponible a http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/

Automobile 2010
Émission de télévision produite par TV Rogers
2010

Télécharger la vidéo (19.5 Mo MP4)