Skip To Content
Skip Flash presentation

Get Flash PlayerThis site uses Javascript and the Adobe Flash Player plugin. The plugin is available at

Ford Model T

Model Year: 1914

Location of Manufacture: Walkerville, Ontario

Download a transcript of this video
Ford Model T

The Ford Model T, nicknamed Tin Lizzie or Flivver in the United States, is a car pro- duced by Henry Fordʼs Ford Motor Company between 1908 and 1927. For many, with the arrival of the Ford Model T, 1908 was regarded as the historic year in which the automobile was established as part of everyday life in America. It is generally consid- ered to be the first car affordable enough for most of the population, the one that would put America on wheels.

In building the Ford Model T, Henry Ford was highly innovative: The use of assembly lines, rather than individual and manual assembly (though Oldsmobile had already used that method with the Curved Dash), and wages proportional to the cost of the car for the employees, so that they would provide a guaranteed market for the product. The first Ford Model T was brought out of the Picket factory in Detroit on September 27th, 1908.

From the foundation of the company in 1903, Henry Ford had produced and fine tuned many different car models. The first had been called Model A, but there werenʼt 19 other models produced ahead of the Model T. Many were just prototypes. The T evolved from the S, which had been derived from the best selling model until then, the Model N.

After about twenty years of Ford Model Tʼs, the next evolution wasnʼt a U, but a new type of Model A, which, by its name, was sending a message of renewal for the com- pany. As a competing business, Chrysler took advantage of this by introducing the first of its line of Plymouths, aptly named Model U...

In 1914, the procedure in assembling the T had improved to the point where it now took only 93 minutes to assemble a finished product. That year, Ford built more automobiles than all other car manufacturers put together. When the 10 millionth T was produced, 9 out of every 10 cars worldwide were Fords. In the end, over 15 million Tʼs were pro- duced, a single model record only surpassed by the Volkswagon Beatle, with 21 million units. Of course, there were also 31 million Toyota Corollas, and 25 million Volkswagon Golfs produced, but in both of these cases, you are actually adding the total production of successive models, which evolved over several decades.

The car initially carried an $850 price tag, at a time where few models where available for less than $2000. By the end of the 1920ʼs, the price had fallen to $300, which, if you take inflation into account, is equivalent to about $3300 today - thanks to savings at- tained through mass production and improvements in assembly line technology.

TV Rogers, a Division of Rogers Cable Communications Inc.

Get Flash PlayerThis video requires Javascript and the Adobe Flash Player plugin. The plugin is available at

Automobile 2010
Television program produced by TV Rogers

Download the video (25.7 mb MP4)

Aller au contenu
frise_chronologique-timeline
Passer présentation Flash

Get Flash Player Ce site utilise Javascript et le plugin Adobe Flash Player. Le plugin est disponible a http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/

Ford Modèle T

Année modèle : 1914

Lieu de fabrication : Walkerville (Ontario)

Télécharger la transcription de cette vidéo.
Ford Modèle T

La Ford Modèle T, surnommée Tin Lizzie ou Flivver aux États-Unis, est une automobile produite par la Ford Motor Company de Henry Ford, entre 1908 et 1927. Pour beau- coup, la Ford Modèle T fait de 1908 lʼannée historique où lʼautomobile entre dans la grande série aux États-Unis. Elle est généralement considérée comme la première voi- ture accessible aux plus grand nombre de personne, celle qui mit lʼAmérique sur des roues.

Henri Ford a beaucoup innové avec la fabrication du Ford Modèle T : Assemblage à la chaine, et non plus individuel et manuel (quoi que Oldsmobile ait introduit cette méth- ode plus tôt pour la Curved Dash), salaire proportionel au prix de la voiture pour les ou- vriers, de sorte quʼils fournissent un marcher garanti. La première Ford Modèle T de sé- rie sort de lʼusine de Picket à Détroit le 27 Septembre 1908.

Depuis la fondation de la société en 1903, Henry Ford avait produit et mis au point plusieurs modèles de voitures. La première avait été désignée Modèle A, mais il nʼy eu pas 19 modèles produits jusquʼà la Ford Modèle T. Plusieurs nʼétaient que des proto- types. La T succédait à la S, qui elle-même dérivait du modèle le plus vendu jusque là, la N.

Après une vingtaine dʼannées de production de Ford Modèle T, ce nʼest pas la U qui lui succéda, mais une nouvelle type A, qui devait par son nom exprimer le renouveau de la gamme. La firme concurente Chrysler en profita pour lancer, en 1928, la première voi- ture de marque Plymouth, sous le nom Modèle U.

En 1914, la procédure dʼassemblage de la T avait été tellement amiléoré quʼil ne fallait plus que 93 minutes pour en assembler un exemplaire. Cette année là, Ford construisi plus de voitures que tous les autres constructeurs réunis. Lorsque la dixième milli- onième T fut produite, 9 voitures sur 10 dans le monde entier étaient des Ford. Au final, plus de 15 million furent produites, record de production pour un seul modèle qui ne fut battu que par la Wolkswagon Coccinelle qui dépassa les 21 million. Certe, il y eu 31 mil- lion de Toyota Corolla, et 25 million de Wolkswagon Golf, mais dans les deux cas, il sʼagit en fait de la somme de plusieurs modèles successifs dont les évolutions sont étalées sur plusieurs décennies.

La voiture fut initalement proposée à un prix de $850 alors que peu de modèles étaient disponibles à moins de $2000. Vers la fin des années 1920, le prix était tombé à $300, ce qui, en tenant compte de lʼinflation, équivaut à environ $3300 actuellement, en raison des économies dʼéchelle et du perfectionnement de la chaine de production.

TV Rogers, une division de Rogers Cable Communications Inc.

Get Flash Player Cette video utilise Javascript et le plugin Adobe Flash Player. Le plugin est disponible a http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/

Automobile 2010
Émission de télévision produite par TV Rogers
2010

Télécharger la vidéo (25.7 Mo MP4)