Skip To Content
frise_chronologique-timeline
Skip Flash presentation

Get Flash PlayerThis site uses Javascript and the Adobe Flash Player plugin. The plugin is available at http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/

Bricklin SV-1

Model Year: 1975

Location of Manufacture: St. John, New Brunswick

Download a transcript of this video
Bricklin SV-1

American promoter Malcolm Bricklin always wanted to build his very own American de- signed sports car.

He has a passion for both business and automobiles. But over the years, his reputation has dwindled. Though his head is filled with great concepts he has difficulty bringing them to the finish line. Lured by guaranteed loans of $2 880 000, and another $500 000 for a 51% control of the shares by the government, he opens acrylic body fabrication plants in St.John and Minto, New Brunswick.
The Government at the time, while involved in the endeavour of building this automo- bile, soon begins to have its doubts. Meanwhile, Malcolm Bricklin is spending like a sailor while maintaining an eccentric lifestyle. He uses private planes and sleeps in the most luxurious hotels. Eventually, production is delayed due to technical problems with items such as the butterfly doors and the poor quality of the body work, just to name a few.

During this time, the designer exhibits the automoblile everywhere he can, but clients still canʼt get their hands on one. The Bricklin is supposed to cost around $4000, but the price tag soon climbs up to $7500, and then finally settles at just around $10 000.

Design problems quickly appear on the first units to hit the streets. Of note, the acrylic fiberglass body changes shape according to the weather. The doors wonʼt close prop- erly, and uneven body joints make it look like a home made car...

Mechanical components came from Detroit. In 1974, 780 cars were produced, all of which were equipped with American Motors 360cc, 220 horsepower V-8 engines. How- ever, American Motors was having difficulty delivering the engines, so 1975 models were equipped with the Ford 351cc, 175 horsepower V-8 engines, with a total of 2062 cars being produced that year.

The companyʼs debt toward the Provincial Government quickly grows to $23 000 000, and the Government refuses to advance more funds to the carmaker unless the private sector can come up with 50% of the money needed. The private sector turns down the request, and the company goes into receivership.

Ironically, during the events of September 11th 2001, many airplanes had to be rerouted towards Moncton. Among the passengers, a certain Malcolm Bricklin, who had previ- ously sworn never to set foot again in New Brunswick.

Get Flash PlayerThis video requires Javascript and the Adobe Flash Player plugin. The plugin is available at http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/

Automobile 2010
Television program produced by TV Rogers
2010

Download the video (26.2 mb MP4)

Aller au contenu
frise_chronologique-timeline
Passer présentation Flash

Get Flash Player Ce site utilise Javascript et le plugin Adobe Flash Player. Le plugin est disponible a http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/

Bricklin SV-1

Année modèle : 1975

Lieu de fabrication : St. John (Nouveau-Brunswick)

Télécharger la transcription de cette vidéo.
Bricklin SV-1

Le promoteur américain Malcolm Bricklin voulait construire sa propre voiture sport de conception américaine.

Il a la passion des voitures et des affaires. Pourtant, au fil des années, sa réputation est peu enviable. Il a la tête pleine de projets, mais a de la difficulté à les mettre à terme. Attiré par des garanties dʼemprunt de $2 880 000, en plus de $500 000 pour 51% des actions par le gouvernement, il ouvre une usine de fabrication de carrosseries en fibre de verre, à St-Jean et à Minto au Nouveau-Bruswick.

Le gouvernement en place, qui sʼimplique dans le projet de fabrication de la fameuse voiture, commence à sentir la soupe chaude peu après. Pendant ce temps, Malcolm Bricklin dépense à tous vents avec son train de vie excentrique. Il voyage en avion privé et couche dans les hôtels les plus luxueux. La production est enfin retardée en raison des problèmes techniques, comme les portes-papillon et la mauvaise qualité des car- rosseries.

Pendant ce temps, son concepteur la présente partout, mais les clients ne peuvent tou- jours pas sʼen procurer une. La Bricklin devait se vendre aux environs de $4000 initia- lement, mais la facture grimpa rapidement aux alentours de $7500, pour se terminer dans la fourchette des $10 000.

Les problèmes de conception apparaissent rapidement sur les unités vendues. Entre autres, sa carosserie en fibre de verre se modifiait selon la température. Portes qui fer- ment mal et joints de carrosserie inégaux la font ressembler bien plus à une voiture de fabrication artisanale.

Les éléments mécaniques provenaient de Détroit. La production en 1974 fut de 780 voi- tures, et elles étaient équipées de moteurs V-8 de American Motors de 360 pouces cubes fournissant 220 chevaux. Comme American Motors avait de la difficulté à fournir ses moteurs, les modèles ʼ75 furent équipés du V-8 Ford 351 pouces cubes de 175 chevaux, et furent fabriqués à 2062 exemplaires.
Lʼendettement de lʼentreprise envers le gouvernement provincial grimpe à $23 000 000, et le gouvernement refuse de lui avancer dʼautres fonds à moins que le secteur privé ne fournisse 50% de financement. Le secteur privé refuse, et la compagnie est mise sous séquestre.

Comble dʼironie, lors des évènements du 11 septembre 2001, plusieurs avions ont dû être détournés du côté de Moncton. Parmis les passagers, un certain Malcolm Bricklin, qui sʼétait pourtant juré de ne jamais remettre les pieds au Nouveau-Brunswick.

Get Flash Player Cette video utilise Javascript et le plugin Adobe Flash Player. Le plugin est disponible a http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/

Automobile 2010
Émission de télévision produite par TV Rogers
2010

Télécharger la vidéo (26.2 Mo MP4)